The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Great Britain simulation in Simutrans Experimental  (Read 279815 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
[Update] Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #385 on: January 01, 2015, 08:58:13 PM »
After a quiet few Simutrans months, I've returned to the Great Britain map to make some updates - partly in the light of timetable changes.


Here's the new savegame:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61716/GBmap-Jan15.rar






Timetable changes:
  • New SouthEastern highspeed timetable, including new circular services via Dover, Deal and Margate (and vice versa)
  • Rearranged SouthEastern mainline timetables, meaning no more train splitting at Ashford or Faversham. While there are a few splits still in the working timetable, there are several off-peak hours without such a split - so I've picked those to simulate.
  • Thameslink changes as the line from Blackfriars to London Bridge closes for redevelopment. Trains from Blackfriars to East Croydon now go via Elephant and Castle, and there is a new semi-fast service from London Bridge to Brighton.
Additionally, I've made cosmetic improvements to much of Kent and Sussex - repainting all the tracks with the 'new' versions I made a year or so ago. Since the South East was the earliest area I made on this map, it had missed out on this up to now. Oh, and the Class 395 and Class 319 trains have been repainted.


There are also a couple of extra bus routes (to Hayling Island, and from Oxford to Aylesbury). From now on most of my work will be in adding bus routes and making cosmetic improvements.


There are also some changes to the Midland Mainline timetable, to reflect the new 125mph running on some sections, which I haven't yet added.

Offline Junna

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #386 on: January 01, 2015, 09:14:54 PM »
You could always do a network as of 1951 greatest extent network. Though I suppose that'd be without accurate timetabling. It would be wonderfully dense.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #387 on: January 01, 2015, 11:56:36 PM »
Indeed, that would be quite something! Although given the lack of the comparable required information about historical railways, it may be the work of a different lifetime...

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #388 on: January 01, 2015, 11:59:31 PM »
Was 1951 the maximum extent? I thought that a fair bit closed in the 1920s and 1930s. I should have imagined that the maximum extent would have been just before the first world war.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #389 on: January 02, 2015, 12:50:30 AM »
Earlier railways would be a nightmare to try and simulate as clockface timetables were pretty much non-existent. On the plus side the actual number of trains running might not be much different, as despite there being more route miles, many lines has a much less frequent service than they do now.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #390 on: January 02, 2015, 01:09:28 AM »
Earlier railways would be a nightmare to try and simulate as clockface timetables were pretty much non-existent. On the plus side the actual number of trains running might not be much different, as despite there being more route miles, many lines has a much less frequent service than they do now.

Another problem with earlier railways is likely to be their propensity to change locomotives/carriages/wagons in a train with great regularity, which is much more rare now.

Offline Junna

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #391 on: January 02, 2015, 01:45:40 PM »
Well, I haven't seen any complete network maps for anything older than 1951. Are there any?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #392 on: January 02, 2015, 01:50:31 PM »
I cannot immediately find any online, but there are plenty of books of old RCH atlases, such as this one from 1904.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #393 on: January 02, 2015, 09:32:01 PM »
There's a nice (work-in-progress) historical map here, although I can't speak to its accuracy:
http://www.systemed.net/atlas/

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #394 on: January 02, 2015, 09:37:07 PM »
Very interesting!

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #395 on: January 15, 2015, 01:55:52 AM »
555, 79236 - broken road
1201, 7828 - broken road
Traffic Jam at York after some time in the latest update
2597, 4244 - broken rails
I will post more errors when I see them!

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #396 on: January 15, 2015, 09:13:42 AM »
Thanks for spotting these - I'll get them sorted in due course!

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #397 on: January 15, 2015, 08:34:55 PM »
Your welcome!

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #398 on: January 16, 2015, 06:09:49 AM »
Rail line under Glasgow is blocked
Rail line at Haymarket is blocked

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #399 on: January 16, 2015, 06:26:39 AM »
Preston is blocked up
Manschester "         "
Crewe           "         "
York             "         "
Stafford        "         "


EDIT: Stafford is NOT blocked up, the blockup at Crewe caused it!

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #400 on: January 16, 2015, 07:04:37 AM »
Liverpool
Wakefield
Leeds
Cardiff
Edinburg - No trains can enter from the north side!

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #401 on: January 16, 2015, 08:02:12 AM »
I'd be surprised if there's more than a couple of route causes there - the East Coast Main Line has caused me problems, though only really at Doncaster (which has knock on effects everywhere). Crewe used to caused trouble in the WCML. I'll check this out later.


For info, how long did you run the map for,and what version are you using?

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #402 on: January 16, 2015, 08:38:40 AM »
A while and the latest version I could find, 11.35

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #403 on: January 16, 2015, 08:45:33 AM »
Most of London is grid locked

Offline Combuijs

  • Web Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1392
  • Maintainer of maps.simutrans.com
    • Combuijs
  • Languages: EN, NL
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #404 on: January 16, 2015, 09:55:55 AM »
Most of London is grid locked

So, looks like an accurate simulation then...

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #405 on: January 16, 2015, 10:59:51 AM »
So, looks like an accurate simulation then...
I wouldn't have a clue since I don't live in England but the trains don't even move!

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #406 on: January 17, 2015, 03:31:36 AM »
There is a blockage at Sheffield

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #407 on: January 17, 2015, 05:18:46 AM »
1344, 1031 wrong rail

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #408 on: January 22, 2015, 08:34:42 AM »
Any update with what errors I said?

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2732
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #409 on: January 23, 2015, 06:45:27 PM »
Remember to shutdown all trains in late December and Early January due to bad weather and incompetents!

Last year people leaving London after Christmas were greeted with lovely closed stations and lines despite having booked expensive tickets ages in advance.

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #410 on: January 31, 2015, 09:49:35 AM »
You going to update this?

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #411 on: February 05, 2015, 11:19:58 PM »
I am, but I've been distracted by other things recently. Sorry for not replying sooner - I only just saw your most recent two posts.

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #412 on: February 06, 2015, 07:31:30 PM »
Ahh, ok

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #413 on: February 19, 2015, 11:19:32 PM »
I ran the game for a fairly long time and came across problems only at Cardiff and Carlisle. These are both fixed in this version:


https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61716/uk2015.rar


I also had a problem in Gloucester which I believe was a consequence of the Cardiff block. Let me know if you find Gloucester playing up again. It's likely that the Gloucester issue could have had wide-ranging effects since it's near the CrossCountry route. Any problem there will eventually infect Birmingham New Street, and once that falls, the realm falls.


If you find further problems, it's useful to track them down as close to source as possible - even to the exact train which initially gets stuck. This makes it simpler to fix problems.

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #414 on: February 20, 2015, 10:19:45 PM »
Ok, thanks, I try to but sometimes I can't tell!

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #415 on: February 22, 2015, 07:39:28 PM »
Ok, Edinburgh is blocked again but I think it's train ID 2074 blocking it all up! And I think it's also 2069 and 2060 blocking each other!

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #416 on: February 22, 2015, 07:43:15 PM »
Thanks - I'll check that out and see what I find. I don't think I've ever seen a problem at Edinburgh before so I'm intrigued to see what this could be! :)

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #417 on: February 23, 2015, 12:32:58 AM »
Ok, thanks!

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #418 on: April 13, 2015, 07:23:22 PM »
I wasn't able to reproduce a problem at Edinburgh (although you weren't the only one to report it, 123abc), but I did find a problematic timing point on the two-hourly westbound XC (Glasgow) service, so I've removed that. Also I noticed that the same service was travelling to Glasgow via Shotts instead of via Carstairs, so I rectified that too. Finally, I squashed a blockage at Carlisle.


New savegame download link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61716/uk2015-2.rar


Let me know if there's still trouble north of the border.

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #419 on: April 13, 2015, 10:52:28 PM »
Ok, I will