The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Word wrap in the chat window  (Read 2200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline deMangler

  • *
  • Posts: 67
Word wrap in the chat window
« on: June 08, 2011, 01:04:06 AM »
Don't know if this rates as a bug or a feature request but here goes.
I have noticed that in multi-player games word wrap would really be very helpful in the chat window. Some messages over-run a lot.
Perhaps an option to not display player chat in the scrolling display at the bottom would help too - it really can get backed up with player chat.

dM

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Word wrap in the chat window
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2011, 07:26:12 AM »
Having been the other party to the offending conversations, I fully support this suggestion!

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2908
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: Word wrap in the chat window
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2011, 05:41:10 PM »
To set it: It's an extension request.

That's a good idea. I have another option:
I sometimes play a game called Soldat, it's a shooting game, and I play online often. And the chat is show on the upper left corner. I would like to consider add this option on Simutrans, it helps a lot the chat between players. And the client will choose the option he/she likes more. Here's a screen to show what I mean:
Image

Offline TurfIt

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1327
Re: Word wrap in the chat window
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2011, 08:20:30 PM »
Messages over running is a bug, fixed but not committed yet... Adding word wrap the message list wouldn't be trivial. Gain not worth the pain IMHO. Type shorter messages.  ;)
Note: you can click on a message to open a new dialog containing the message in a word wrapped format.

Exclude chat messages from the bottom ticker is already implemented. See the message options dialog.

Offline deMangler

  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Word wrap in the chat window
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2011, 09:38:38 PM »
Messages over running is a bug, fixed but not committed yet... Adding word wrap the message list wouldn't be trivial. Gain not worth the pain IMHO. Type shorter messages.  ;)
Well, it's your call. But how short? The message window is re-sizable and you have no way of knowing how large someone has their message window.
To have a resizable window where the content is usually truncated at normal usage size (IMHO, and experience) is something worth more than a casual look to fix I reckon.
Anyway, I don't know the code in question, so that is all from me.
dM

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9584
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Word wrap in the chat window
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2011, 01:37:15 PM »
You can get a popup window for the messages instead of a ticker. This fits on any screen, since it has word wrap. As said, it is just a click away in the configuration options.

Offline deMangler

  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Word wrap in the chat window
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2011, 02:02:45 PM »
Sorry, I cannot see an option for chat there - maybe it has not made it to experimental.

I still hope a dedicated chat window is considered as I find those popups near the cursor bad enough without it being
rapid-fire chat from the other player.

Thanks for the consideration.
I will, obviously still continue to enjoy Simutrans immensely regardless of this.  :)

dM

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Word wrap in the chat window
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2011, 02:27:49 PM »
A workaround, of course, is to have a simultaneous IRC session, although I suppose that those works best for those of us with multiple monitors.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2011, 10:37:09 PM by jamespetts »