News:

Want to praise Simutrans?
Your feedback is important for us ;D.

LZH and LHA

Started by JackVerheydt, June 19, 2011, 04:07:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JackVerheydt

I think I posted this about a month ago, but I can't find it back, no matter where I look; perhaps it was removed. No scolding please, for I am an 80 years old amateur, and definitely no computer geek, freak or nerd, as you call it. It's hard enough to keep up with all you experts........

For several years now, I have been downloading some of the fantastic collection of objects (ships and planes)  from the addons presented in the several pages covering these on the Japanese Simutrans forum (http://japanese.simutrans.com/index.php?Addon128, and had the satisfaction of seeing them appear in our standard depots and a few lists that can be seen with the aid of keys &/) etc, where they are accessible to users. I have recently decided to start downloading many of their trains and trams, and some of their buildings, too, but here I encounter some problems, especially with addons such as buildings (which I hope to use later in a World Map in the area containing Japan).

With the trains and trams I have little trouble when they are in WinZip or WinRar, but unfortunately there are many items in .lhz, especially many Japanese train vehicles, with the use of whose unzipping programs I am not familiar, particularly lhz.  When you download them, they appear with a WinZip symbol in front, but when you try to open them, you are told that  .lzh requires the use of lha, which I do not have, let alone would know how to use. Who does ? Don't know why the Japanese cannot stick with the well-known and familiar unzipping programs mentioned above. Does lha stand for Alpha Zip perhaps, which you have to buy after a trial period, but I would not be able to figure out anyway how to use it on just those couple of dozen lzh files I have.