The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [PATCH] : compatibility_group for stations/buildings.  (Read 1652 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline inkelyad

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 482
  • Languages: EN, RU
[PATCH] : compatibility_group for stations/buildings.
« on: June 27, 2011, 06:13:48 PM »
Adds compatibility_group to building objects.
It is more groundwork for future expansions.

Right now stations tiles with different compatibility_group will not be joined together to one big station.
I am using this to make small, cheap service stations for spacing purposes.
Like this:
Code: [Select]
Obj=building
Name=RoadServiceStation
type=stop     
waytype=road   
intro_year=1820
intro_month=7   
noconstruction=1
NoInfo=1 
Dims=1,1,2
level=1
compatibility_group=1
station_capacity=1
station_price=500
station_maintenance=10
BackImage[0][0][0][0][0][0]=service-road.0.0
FrontImage[0][0][0][0][0][0]=service-road.0.1
BackImage[1][0][0][0][0][0]=service-road.0.2
FrontImage[1][0][0][0][0][0]=service-road.0.3
icon=> service-road.0.5
cursor=service-road.0.4

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [PATCH] : compatibility_group for stations/buildings.
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 06:31:42 PM »
Hmm - an interesting idea. Might I ask what its gameplay function would be? How would these small stations be used differently from joining to large stations; and what future expansions are planned that relate to this feature?

Offline inkelyad

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 482
  • Languages: EN, RU
Re: [PATCH] : compatibility_group for stations/buildings.
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2011, 06:47:17 PM »
Ask carlbaker if he need it. It is very useful for endstops.

In attachment bus stop with red flag has zero pax/cargo capacity and used for spacing.

I don't have plans for future expansions yet. But, for example, we can tie cargo type to station compatibility group.( Do we need "bulk goods only stations"?)

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [PATCH] : compatibility_group for stations/buildings.
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2011, 09:33:17 PM »
Hmm - when you write "used for spacing", do you mean that vehicles will just sit there and wait for their time to go back to the main part of their schedule, like a 'bus stand?

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2039
Re: [PATCH] : compatibility_group for stations/buildings.
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2011, 10:02:27 PM »
i'm not sure if i can follow you completely inkelyad. wouldn't it be easier to enable wait/spacing options for waypoints in a lines timetable?

Offline inkelyad

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 482
  • Languages: EN, RU
Re: [PATCH] : compatibility_group for stations/buildings.
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2011, 03:45:00 AM »
Hmm - when you write "used for spacing", do you mean that vehicles will just sit there and wait for their time to go back to the main part of their schedule, like a 'bus stand?
More or less. It is traffic limiter. If it were one station, one big train will fill all buses fast. Spacing will be ignored, as 100% loaded convoy ignore spacing. I can add new option for it, but service stations seems more versatile.

i'm not sure if i can follow you completely inkelyad. wouldn't it be easier to enable wait/spacing options for waypoints in a lines timetable?
"Choose platform signal" will not choose between waypoints. I want to build proper big stations where bus/train will wait for 'schedule', which can be shared between lines and will not be used as exchange by passengers/goods. It is possible have such stations now, but 'not joining' part makes things easier.