The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: On-Road Train  (Read 9388 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vonjo

  • *
  • Posts: 273
On-Road Train
« on: June 30, 2011, 04:59:33 PM »
Do someone have passanger trains which is scripted as road vehicles? It looks like a regular train, but in fact it is a bus/truck with trailers.

Well, I'm too lazy to build double track and put signals. :-P

It would be nice if someone have the 'rail track' and 'station' too.

You know what I mean, right? :-)

Or, can I just modify the DAT files?
« Last Edit: June 30, 2011, 05:05:27 PM by vonjo »

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3325
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2011, 07:33:48 PM »
vonjo, I am worried about that nobody has such trains. And I don't see anything good in being of such trains/buses - because they surely may cause traffic jams in cities.

So, I have only one advice for you: learn using signals - but you may know that base set is quite simple. Set prepared inside project of Pak128.CS is much more difficult - because it contains (almost) all signals that are used on czech railways. Their Simutrans-type variety is of course small - but each signal has else using.

For example one is used inside pre-station heading and else of the same Simutrans-type is used elsewhere. It is all I can say now - because I don't know more.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2011, 08:01:03 PM »
You can make your own ones from existing material, but there are two problems:

a) graphics are aligned differently, so you'd have to reposition everything,
b) road vehicles can create convoys only up to 4 consists.

So, in the end it is possible, but constrained so much that it doesn't justify any amount of work (IMO).

Offline gwalch

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 999
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2011, 06:38:56 AM »
Maybe you can use some double-articulated trolleybuses... They have huge capacity for road vehicles l

Offline Vonjo

  • *
  • Posts: 273
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2011, 01:31:35 PM »
vonjo, I am worried about that nobody has such trains. And I don't see anything good in being of such trains/buses - because they surely may cause traffic jams in cities.

So, I have only one advice for you: learn using signals - but you may know that base set is quite simple. Set prepared inside project of Pak128.CS is much more difficult - because it contains (almost) all signals that are used on czech railways. Their Simutrans-type variety is of course small - but each signal has else using.
Another problem is city road can replace the track.
I know how to use signals. But sometimes I just too lazy to put it. ;D
The reason is to safe space (double track in a tile) and to make building it easier.
Where is pak128.cs?

a) graphics are aligned differently, so you'd have to reposition everything,
b) road vehicles can create convoys only up to 4 consists.
a) That is a problem. :o But i think i should try it when i have time.
b) Not a big problem for me. I can use short but a lot of convoy.

Maybe you can use some double-articulated trolleybuses... They have huge capacity for road vehicles l
Yes. But that is not a train.

Btw I found this in japanese.simutrans.com.
I think the vehicle looks like a train. And the road is cool, it looks like a maglev track.

http://japanese.simutrans.com/index.php?Addon128%2FTrucks

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2011, 01:56:23 PM »
I think these are AGTs, like the Yurikamome for example.

Offline Vonjo

  • *
  • Posts: 273
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2011, 05:25:55 PM »
Right. The one at the leftmost is Yurikamome.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3325
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2011, 05:35:30 PM »
Where is pak128.cs?
Pak128.CS is under development and not yet officialy released - but you can find great many things made for it in this topic of Czech language board. Some add-ons are attached to post, else ones are only linked. If you would have some problems, send PM to me.

Offline Vonjo

  • *
  • Posts: 273
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2011, 04:32:47 PM »
Pak128.CS is under development and not yet officialy released - but you can find great many things made for it in this topic of Czech language board. Some add-ons are attached to post, else ones are only linked. If you would have some problems, send PM to me.
Thanks. I hope it will be balanced. :)

For now I guess I have to convert the some train to bus myself. The guide bus above is too short.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3325
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: On-Road Train
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2011, 05:19:38 PM »
You will find that almost all vehicles of Pak128.CS are quite cheap.