The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Modern High Capacity Trams  (Read 26728 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Modern High Capacity Trams
« on: August 11, 2011, 01:33:52 PM »
Hello,

after resuming a bit playing, I noticed that Pak 128 doesn't exploit all the possibilities of Trams.

This is why I planned a small set of modern high capacity trams, freely inspired by real life models.

Here's a preview:



From the top:

Fiat Ferroviaria 5000
3-car tram, 188 pax
intro 1990
used in Turin, Italy

Siemens Combino (classic)
3-car tram, 180 pax
5-car tram, 272 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
intro 1992
used in many cities, esp. in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, etc...

Bombardier Eurotram
5-car tram, 188 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
7-car tram, 292 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
possibility of longer combination of an odd number of cars (9, 11, etc...) requiring a stop/station of 3 or more tiles
intro 1996
used in Strasbourg, France, Milan, Italy, and many other cities

Alstom Cityway
5-car tram, 164 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
7-car tram, 224 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
intro 1998
used in Turin, Italy, and other cities, esp, in Italy

AnsaldoBreda Sirio
5-car tram, 232 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
7-car tram, 316 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
possibility of longer combination of an odd number of cars (9, 11, etc...) requiring a stop/station of 3 or more tiles
intro 2002
used in Milan, Italy, and many other cities

Siemens Combino Supra
3-car tram, 170 pax
4-car tram, 230 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
5-car tram, 290 pax (requires 2-tile stops)
possibility of longer combination of any number of cars (6, 7, 8, etc...) requiring a stop/station of 3 or more tiles
intro 2004
used in Budapest, Hungary, Vienna, Austria, and some other cities
« Last Edit: July 09, 2012, 12:47:57 PM by Fabio »

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2011, 02:09:09 PM »
They seem quite good. It was time for them - but until they will appear in game, I will stay on using French addon trams by Gwalch. I think it would be good to choose some ones of them - and add them together with these (from your post).

And also I suggest to use tram stop made by mEGa - but it is in duty to build it like railway stations, not bus/trolleybus stations.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2011, 02:29:53 PM by VaclavMacurek »

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2011, 02:40:49 PM »
Unfortunately Gwalch's tram don't have the source files open (you can only download the pak).

If their sources were released, I think they all should be included in the official pak.

This set of 6 models will be released soon. After that Zeno could help me balancing them better (I can't find any formula, so I empirically based their values in proportion with Raven's trams).

In my TODO list there are also tram signals, 4-5 tram tracks (replacing the existing 2) and possibly a second catenary for speeds up to 100 km/h.

Additionally, I would like also a tram-only tunnel (presently I build a road tunnel and I lay tram tracks in it) for pre-metro systems (i.e. trams going underground downtown).

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2011, 03:09:34 PM »
I think Gwalch would publish source files of those trams (and also track and catenary) if somebody would ask for it. And I can do it.

Tram-only tunnel - I think that it would be good - but (at least) I will use it very rarely - in accordance with conditions in my country.

And what about tram-only bridge? I think that if it would have max. length 4 or 5 it would be almost perfect. Longer ones are fully useless - due to people build trams mostly inside cities - and cities don't grow across wide water areas.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2011, 07:09:58 AM »

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2011, 07:48:31 AM »
Thanks. I will test them - in current game I am in year 1954 or so but I have not deleted previous game yet - and there I am in year 2040 or so.

-->
1. I have no complaints on their capacity, only Combino Supra has confusing constellation for (at least the first) using.
2. Is their colour native or are they coloured by player colour?

-->
I looked on Gwalch yesterday - and saw he is probably on holiday - because he logged in on 13th July last day.
-->
Gwalch appeared in forum and wrote (here) he will do it after return from holiday.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2011, 05:36:13 PM by VaclavMacurek »

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2011, 09:32:50 PM »
They look really nice, fabio. About balancing, I'll take a look at it, but IIRC trams were one of the relaxed balancing items, which means not very accurate but easy to calculate.

Offline Isaac_Clarke

  • *
  • Posts: 175
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2011, 08:13:12 PM »
These trams are very successfull and god knows that I like this mode of transport. They serves my cities very well. Thanks fabio :)

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2011, 08:27:14 PM »
How did I miss this thread?

Are these ready for use, or still preview?

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2011, 08:58:37 PM »
fabio
it´s Possible to get from the tram the PNG and Dat Files?
Thanks that you hate be make the new Trams.

Offline mEGa

  • 2D painter
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • Pak128 graphics
    • mEGa_Simutrans
  • Languages: FR, EN, ru
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2011, 07:21:00 AM »
And also I suggest to use tram stop made by mEGa - but it is in duty to build it like railway stations, not bus/trolleybus stations.

Hi Guys,
@ fabio: more interesting and fine work.

@ Vaclav and others :
About my tram-single stop. I would continuing the design with your suggestions :
- correcting bugs
- get some ameliorations with night lights
- create few views for all period of the game.
What do you think about it ?

Note : I can (and want) get this pak an opensource creation, of course.

to testing :
http://www.simutrans-france.fr.nf/doku.php?id=en:snfosstations

Regards


Offline gwalch

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 995
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2011, 07:37:44 AM »
Hi !

For my tramways, i have problem with graphics.simutrans, but i am ok they will be open (and maybe in the pak).

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2011, 07:39:24 AM »
- create few views for all period of the game.
Yeah, splendid.

So, why don't use station from following picture for any period of game?

BTW: it is the same picture as I linked in topic Bus and Tram Stops replacement project (where this and also your post should be ... moved)

Offline gwalch

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 995
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2011, 07:43:30 AM »
@ Vaclav
But ! It's not a bus, it's an hearse ("zu krematorien") ! ;D

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2011, 07:56:45 AM »
... huh? ... Is it critics to bus, itself? or bad joke?

Text on bus is in my native language and is Za krematoriem (but I give you my pardon because it is not well readable) - but it is not changing anything on that joke ;D - because it goes by city cemetery.

I had to use this photo because I did not find one with better detail of that station.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 08:08:09 AM by VaclavMacurek »

Offline gwalch

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 995
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #15 on: October 14, 2011, 08:46:41 AM »
Oh, it was just a joke !

I suppose that bus works with gas (LPG ?) and not gasoil, because of the upper part ?

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #16 on: October 14, 2011, 12:29:13 PM »
Yes, it uses LPG - but I think that case on roof is not coverage for gas tank - but I am not sure.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #17 on: October 14, 2011, 06:59:42 PM »
all LPG and CNG buses seem to have their tanks on the roof. Maybe it's for crash protection?

Offline Canalla

  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Rosarino De Central Mas canalla que nunca...
    • facebook
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #18 on: October 18, 2011, 03:08:59 PM »
is neither a tank nor protection is to lower the air conditioning warm temperatures and may also have heating in my city there are small amounts of these cars. Gretings

Offline gwalch

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 995
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2011, 11:21:34 AM »
I started to put sourcefiles from my tramways on http://graphics.simutrans.com/index.php?cat=10134
I would like to know if all my tramways seems interesting for the official paks, or just some of them (for exemple, i think my bombardier eurotram is not very good, i prefer fabio's one) ?
At this moment, i have done :
- Alsthom TFS from city of Nantes
- Alsthom Vevey from city of St Etienne
- Bombardier Eurotram from city of Strasbourg
- Alstom Citadis 301 from city of Montpellier
- Alstom Citadis 302 from city of Lyon
- Alstom Citadis 402 from city of Bordeaux
- Alstom Citadis 302 from city of Le Mans
- Alstom Citadis 302 from city of Reims
Do you want all of them ? Or just better ones ?

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2011, 12:46:29 PM »
I vote for Bordeaux, Le Mans and Reims - and mostly for Le Mans, of called ones.

Offline mEGa

  • 2D painter
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • Pak128 graphics
    • mEGa_Simutrans
  • Languages: FR, EN, ru
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2011, 01:06:45 PM »
For me all of them with a little preference for Le Mans

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2011, 01:08:53 PM »
All tram from you are nice!
Make all public!

Offline Delite

  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #23 on: November 14, 2011, 03:09:40 AM »
Thanks for these great trams! As an aside, I think the Siemens Avenio (the successor to the Combino and Combino Supra) and the Ultra Low Floor would be interesting trams to have.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #24 on: November 14, 2011, 01:10:09 PM »
Useful for removing large group of people on an overcrowding station. Thanks. Make more if so. ;)

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #25 on: November 14, 2011, 07:21:10 PM »
I am worried about that tram has the same chance to empty overcrowded station - like other vehicles.

But else I agree with idea of post trams - that was called here.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
RELEASE: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #26 on: January 16, 2012, 02:17:23 PM »
Finally they are ready for release:


Download the sources here:


http://public.gonella.eu/simutrans/tram/vehicles/trams.zip


Offline neldot

  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #27 on: July 06, 2012, 06:37:57 PM »
Hello Fabio, congrats for your beautiful trams! :)

May I ask you if you can allow a three elements Sirio (in your current dat file the minimum composition allowed is five elements), to reflect the Sirio trams that run in Naples?
Thanks in advance! :)



A three elements Sirio tram at the PORTO terminus in Naples (a snowy Vesuvius in the background)

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #28 on: July 09, 2012, 09:26:52 AM »
Thank you, neldot!

This set of trams needs some additional work before official release, specifically antialiasing and some other details.

I think adding also a 3 elements combination could be rather easy, although I can't guarantee it will fit in a single tile stop.

I'll keep you posted!

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #29 on: July 09, 2012, 12:55:37 PM »
Here an updated release:

- Antialiasing for windows and roof
- Sirio can have also 3-car composition
- Removed T201 (Fiat F 5000), which might be part (once improved) of a second set ranging 1980-2000.

TEST PAK
« Last Edit: July 09, 2012, 05:34:40 PM by Fabio »

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #30 on: July 09, 2012, 03:34:59 PM »
Only the TEST PAK link works now :(

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #31 on: July 09, 2012, 05:36:20 PM »
It baffles me: they are un the server, the name appears to be ok, but I get a 404, too.

Anyway, dat and png sources here in attachment!

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #32 on: July 10, 2012, 05:22:12 PM »
Uploaded to SVN. I'm no longer opposed to the graphics, but... How do others feel about the "omg lots of vehicles in depot" that results from this?

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #33 on: July 10, 2012, 05:54:41 PM »
Thank you! Personally I always play with show all disabled, so I only see the first car in the depot...

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Modern High Capacity Trams
« Reply #34 on: July 10, 2012, 05:57:11 PM »
Fabio Thank you for the workaround of your tram.