The International Simutrans Forum

Author Topic: Zoom the destinations minimap in City Statistics  (Read 2245 times)

Offline falconne

Zoom the destinations minimap in City Statistics
« on: November 08, 2011, 08:50:44 AM »
I'm new to the game so I might have missed something obvious, but is it possible to zoom into the two minimaps on the city statistic screen that show passenger destinations? I'm playing pak128 on the default 256x256 map size and it's almost impossible to make out any detail on them. I can make out some of the dots, but the colour isn't always clear, making it harder as the game goes on to find destinations that don't yet have stations.

Offline Dwachs

• DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: Zoom the destinations minimap in City Statistics
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2011, 09:21:44 AM »
this minimap is not zoomable.

One can play also without such precise information: Just cover large cities first, connect factories to cities that want to send workers there, and connect tourist attraction (high-level ones first).

Offline falconne

« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2011, 09:33:18 AM »
Oh ok. Thanks, I figured as much.

On a related note, I know passengers will use multiple transfers to get where they want to go, but will they use different competitors' stops if they have to? For example, if I build a passenger train service between two big cities and only place the train stations, but both cities are internally well covered by competitors' bus services, will passengers use the other players' buses to get to my station from everywhere in the city? Or do I have to build my own bus network inside each city to bring passengers to my train stations?

Also, if the above two cities already have an intercity bus service between them, but my train is faster and more frequent, will I scavenge some passengers off those bus services, or does there need to be unhappy passengers before that happens?

Offline Carl

• Devotee