News:

Simutrans.com Portal
Our Simutrans site. You can find everything about Simutrans from here.

QuickStone Errors

Started by mgp104, December 22, 2011, 02:38:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mgp104

Hi,
Since I started playing Simutrans Experimental I've really enjoyed it and loved the new features (to the point that I don't like playing standard Simutrans because it doesn't have features like comfort and vehicle weight), but I've had problems with every game that I have started and it's always something to do with 'QuickStone'.  Usually the problem occurs with a game that I have been playing for a while (and therefore spent a lot of time on), sometimes the problem occurs during the game but mostly it happens when I try to load a save.  I've had the problem with all the versions of Simutrans Experimental (V10.2, 10.3 and 10.4) that I have used (although all of my saved games were games that were started in versions 10.2 or 10.3).
Has anyone else had this problem?  Is it something to do with the settings that I'm using or my machine (64 bit Windows 7)?  I dearly want to play this game but it is so frustrating when you spend a lot of time building up a transport network only to have fatal errors that cause the program to crash.  Can anyone help me?
Mark

jamespetts

Mgp,

thank you for your bug report. I am glad that you are enjoying Experimental, and sorry that you are having problems. QuickStone is a smart pointer system implemeted by Standard, but used heavily in Experimental specific features, too. Errors involving QuickStone pointers might occur in many different parts of the code. In order to help to track these issues down, can you be more specific about exactly what error message that you get, and what you do just before it occurs? Uploading a saved game in which the error can be reproduced would be very helpful. Thank you again for your report.
Download Simutrans-Extended.