The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Boarding-only stops, intercity route settings, etc...  (Read 28858 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5543
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Boarding-only stops
« Reply #105 on: September 30, 2012, 05:36:41 PM »
Ideally, long distance passengers should have priority on intercity lines, and short distance passenger should have priority on intracity lines. That should keep intercity lines from running full with short distance passengers, and intracity lines from running empty because the intercity train departed with all suitable passengers. The capacity is there, it's just used wrong.

But what is an intercity line and what is something else?

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Boarding-only stops
« Reply #106 on: September 30, 2012, 06:06:33 PM »
Ideally, long distance passengers should have priority on intercity lines, and short distance passenger should have priority on intracity lines. That should keep intercity lines from running full with short distance passengers, and intracity lines from running empty because the intercity train departed with all suitable passengers. The capacity is there, it's just used wrong.

This is a great idea.

But what is an intercity line and what is something else?

Some ideas:
1) Could a line route length be calculated? maybe simply as manhattan distance of A-B,  then B-C, and so on till A again.
Longer distance lines would give priority to long distance pax, shorter ones to short distance pax.

2) Urban and suburban lines are those which stops are located within twice (or n-times)  the city limits radius from the town hall. These lines give priority to short distance pax, the other to lond distance pax.

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Boarding-only stops
« Reply #107 on: September 30, 2012, 06:10:39 PM »
Fabio
Those idea like i!
I must often riddle how i must be build a route.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5543
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Boarding-only stops
« Reply #108 on: September 30, 2012, 07:23:41 PM »
2) Urban and suburban lines are those which stops are located within twice (or n-times)  the city limits radius from the town hall. These lines give priority to short distance pax, the other to lond distance pax.

That won't work for me, as sometimes, the shorter line also runs between two towns. And the distances aren't equal across the map. A distance suitable in the more crowded areas won't work in more rural regions.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Boarding-only stops
« Reply #109 on: September 30, 2012, 08:42:08 PM »
I managed to create stations where people are boarding-only by following way (on tram - but it may be done also with trains) - and it is not needed to change code - but it can be used only somewhere:

1. circle stations: station with two or more platforms that are on separated ways
2. tram/train arrives to station on way 1 - and goes on circle exchange
3. tram/train leaves circle exchange - and arrives to station on way 2
4. on circle exchange cannot be else station

Result: tram/train will unload all passengers/post at first. Then it empty goes through circle exchange - and after, it will be loaded back.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Boarding-only stops
« Reply #110 on: September 30, 2012, 10:28:28 PM »
But what is an intercity line and what is something else?

A much better idea: Intercity as a property stored within the line object (shown as a check box in Schedule dialog).

Intercity is ON by default for airplanes, ships, trains, and maglevs. It can be turned off manually by the player when creating or updating the line.

Intercity is OFF by default (i.e. current behavior) for busses & trucks, trams, monorails, and narrow gauge. It can be turned on manually by the player when creating or updating the line.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2012, 11:16:50 PM by Fabio »

Offline Roads

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 645
Re: Boarding-only stops
« Reply #111 on: September 30, 2012, 10:47:33 PM »
I like your idea very much Fabio!  Hope it is implemented.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Boarding-only stops, intercity route settings, etc...
« Reply #112 on: September 30, 2012, 11:17:38 PM »
By the way, I joined a handful of related discussions and moved the whole in extension requests.

Offline rsdworker

  • *
  • Posts: 281
Re: Boarding-only stops, intercity route settings, etc...
« Reply #113 on: October 01, 2012, 12:42:32 AM »
the Unloading and Boarding - sounds good -  few examples when train reaches end of line - Norway Oslo south airport Departures (only Unloads all passengers going to airport then train goes in Loop to Arrivals station to load up then goes to Main station
in London - the docklands railway does have Unloading and loading platforms - Bank station features this
the trains arrive at platform 9 and unloads all passengers and train goes in sliding beyond the platform then enters Platform 10 to load train

Offline Bear789

  • *
  • Posts: 129
Re: Boarding-only stops
« Reply #114 on: October 01, 2012, 07:58:48 AM »
Some ideas:
1) Could a line route length be calculated? maybe simply as manhattan distance of A-B,  then B-C, and so on till A again.
Longer distance lines would give priority to long distance pax, shorter ones to short distance pax.

2) Urban and suburban lines are those which stops are located within twice (or n-times)  the city limits radius from the town hall. These lines give priority to short distance pax, the other to lond distance pax.

What about let the player manually setting lines to urban, interurban, local, express? That way you avoid the game randomly misunderstanding what you ment to do.
It's not artificial complexity if things are set up in such a way that without specification the routing works like it does currently, so that players that don't want to meddle with that can ignore it.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1602
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Boarding-only stops, intercity route settings, etc...
« Reply #115 on: October 01, 2012, 08:14:03 AM »
the Unloading and Boarding - sounds good -  few examples when train reaches end of line - Norway Oslo south airport Departures (only Unloads all passengers going to airport then train goes in Loop to Arrivals station to load up then goes to Main station
in London - the docklands railway does have Unloading and loading platforms - Bank station features this
the trains arrive at platform 9 and unloads all passengers and train goes in sliding beyond the platform then enters Platform 10 to load train

This is already achievable within Simutrans, I think. If you create two separate platforms for a station, and have a train stop at both of them, passengers should alight at the first platform and then load at the second platform -- in both cases since that will be the shortest route to their destination. Not sure I've explained that too well -- anybody have a better way of putting it...?

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Boarding-only stops, intercity route settings, etc...
« Reply #116 on: October 01, 2012, 06:41:26 PM »
Going on with the intercity idea, I think it might be simpler to understand and use if the game were to allow a reverse load priority.

Prioritize loads for nearby destination (current behaviour)
or
Prioritize loads for distant destination (new behaviour that can be flagged)

This way, you can still achieve the various usages, intercity, local, express, regional, etc. while not adding too much complexity.

Offline Roads

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 645
Re: Boarding-only stops, intercity route settings, etc...
« Reply #117 on: October 01, 2012, 06:50:29 PM »
Carl, I think you may have explained it as well as it can possibly be because there is a much broader concept here.  With multiple platforms, multiple trains and multiple tracks, you can solve almost any problem.  The trouble is paying for it. :)

AEO, I think your idea would solve most passenger and possibly mail problems.