The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [Closed] New Simutrans-Experimental server (bridgewater-brunel.me.uk)  (Read 62807 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #105 on: January 21, 2012, 07:53:56 PM »
Hmm - I implemented it because people were deleting public roads and leaving cities cut off. It's more realistic this way, I think: if you want the public player (in this game, me) to move roads, post in this thread.

Edit: Note that this does not apply to city roads.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #106 on: January 21, 2012, 08:03:28 PM »
Having a bit of trouble playing; the server seems to spend a lot of time saving and loading the map, compared to actually *playing* it, and seems fond of kicking me out for no known reason...

Offline Milko

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 829
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #107 on: January 21, 2012, 08:05:28 PM »
Hello

Now we are 4 players connected, but I think more players = more desyncs....

PS the game don't remember the server address, is it correct?

- Server off line? -

Giuseppe
« Last Edit: January 21, 2012, 08:10:44 PM by Milko »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #108 on: January 21, 2012, 08:13:22 PM »
It seems to have gone down briefly for reasons not yet entirely clear, but I have restarted it now.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #109 on: January 21, 2012, 08:22:06 PM »
I just get "server did not respond" now when I try and join @ 46.32.231.222

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #110 on: January 21, 2012, 08:23:37 PM »
Hmm - I implemented it because people were deleting public roads and leaving cities cut off. It's more realistic this way, I think: if you want the public player (in this game, me) to move roads, post in this thread.

Edit: Note that this does not apply to city roads.

ah, okay, I thought it was all roads.
as long as city roads can be deleted it is okay. otherwise it becomes quite problematic trying to build the station near the city center.

seems like I couldn't delete the road due to desync.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #111 on: January 21, 2012, 08:23:47 PM »
Hmm, can you try again? It works for me, and reports being up from the command line. The IP is: 46.32.231.222

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #112 on: January 21, 2012, 08:27:43 PM »
The server seems to be on and off.

I see a general trend of more players = more desyncs


and I think a player can still delete public roads by over writing it with their own road
seems not
« Last Edit: January 21, 2012, 08:37:22 PM by AEO »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #113 on: January 21, 2012, 08:33:55 PM »
It's still reported as being up on the command line...

I shall look into the issue about over-writing with other roads, though. Thank you for spotting that.

Edit: I can't reproduce the over-writing roads issue. Can you elaborate?

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #114 on: January 21, 2012, 08:48:03 PM »
I can connect now, it tells me "2 clients connected". There's a lag between building something and it appearing of 2-3seconds. It also has disconnected me twice, roughly 3-4 minutes after joining each time.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #115 on: January 21, 2012, 08:54:32 PM »
AP - lags between commands being sent and executed is usually as a result of your client running more slowly than the server. I am not sure, but I suspect that this might also cause desyncs eventually. May I ask - what are the specifications of the computer that you use to connect?

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #116 on: January 21, 2012, 08:56:13 PM »
Lenovo W500
Intel Core2Duo 2.53Ghz
3072mb Ram
ATI mobility radeon hd 3650
Windows 7

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #117 on: January 21, 2012, 09:03:07 PM »
Hmm. A decent enough specification, although not on the same level as the i7s that people are reporting work well. Is it any better now?

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #118 on: January 21, 2012, 09:11:45 PM »
Alas not. If anything (and it's subjective so I can't be sure), the lag increased.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #119 on: January 21, 2012, 09:13:12 PM »
hi james, I need some public player assistance in rerouting some roads on the south western side of the map.

it seems like I have the lowest specs, but both systems only get around 30~40% CPU usage.
intel C2D, 2.13Ghz
3GB RAM
AMD HD5770
WinXP

and

AMD E-350 1.6ghz
6GB RAM
AMD HD 6319 384MB
Win7

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #120 on: January 21, 2012, 09:26:08 PM »
Do you find that your performance is acceptable, AEO?

AP and AEO - can you tell me your pings?

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #121 on: January 21, 2012, 09:29:15 PM »
ping is 120ms average.

with up to 2 players playing, it seems to stutter, but with 4 it seems like I will desync. by stutter, I mean it is smooth sometimes and sluggish other times.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #122 on: January 21, 2012, 09:54:57 PM »
How do I get it to tell me my ping?

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #123 on: January 21, 2012, 10:07:12 PM »
How do I get it to tell me my ping?
I just do it from windows command line.
win key+R -> cmd -> ping 46.32.231.222

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #124 on: January 21, 2012, 10:17:56 PM »
Thanks. There may have been a time when I knew how to do that, but it's long forgotten!

Ping average 102ms

Offline rsdworker

  • *
  • Posts: 281
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #125 on: January 21, 2012, 10:26:05 PM »
mine is 33ms

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #126 on: January 21, 2012, 10:38:04 PM »
Well, I'm done for the evening. In some respects it clearly works well, but certain elements - notably trying to do anything in-depot, were slow to the point of being unresponsive. AEO appeared to be having a more successful in-game conversation with James about it. I found my in-game messages had a lag on them - I'd type them concurrently with the discussion occurring, and they'd appear 4 or 5 minutes later. No idea if this was due to haivng 3/4 clients connected.

Offline rsdworker

  • *
  • Posts: 281
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #127 on: January 21, 2012, 10:46:05 PM »
Well, I'm done for the evening. In some respects it clearly works well, but certain elements - notably trying to do anything in-depot, were slow to the point of being unresponsive. AEO appeared to be having a more successful in-game conversation with James about it. I found my in-game messages had a lag on them - I'd type them concurrently with the discussion occurring, and they'd appear 4 or 5 minutes later. No idea if this was due to haivng 3/4 clients connected.
i seen that when i used it - i think i noted it this thread

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #128 on: January 22, 2012, 12:18:32 AM »
Hmm - I didn't have any difficulty with chat lag being as much as 3-4 minutes. That will generally mean that your client is running the game slower than the server, so might indicate relatively low performance hardware; conversely, AEO doesn't have anything spectacular, so it's not clear why there should be such a performance difference between the systems. AEO - did you find that in-depot performance was acceptable?

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #129 on: January 22, 2012, 02:19:07 AM »
To repeat what was said in-game, so other can see.

For me, it seems like the depot is the number one spot where I will desync. Purchasing new vehicles seems to be more problematic compared to assembling from available inventory.

convoy replacement is a guaranteed desync, however the command will be executed.

Generally, it seems that 4 clients or more will cause severe instability, while 2 will result in a slight delay between actions.

Offline rsdworker

  • *
  • Posts: 281
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #130 on: January 22, 2012, 02:20:34 AM »
To repeat what was said in-game, so other can see.

For me, it seems like the depot is the number one spot where I will desync. Purchasing new vehicles seems to be more problematic compared to assembling from available inventory.

convoy replacement is a guaranteed desync, however the command will be executed.

Generally, it seems that 4 clients or more will cause severe instability, while 2 will result in a slight delay between actions.
i have simllar experince - when i had 2 clients on  then i was happy building away things then suddenly 4 clients its started to deysnc

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #131 on: January 22, 2012, 07:16:09 AM »
server might be down.
no client side crash this time.

it seems like people were trying to connect to the server, but couldn't.

Offline Milko

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 829
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #132 on: January 22, 2012, 11:05:43 AM »
Hello

This is my experience last night.
 Delayexecutionofcommands:
 10/15 seconds on an Intel Core Duo 1.6 Ghz 1Mb RAM
 Instant on an Intel i7 4Mb RAM

 desync:
 Present (seems random) when working on lines and routes of the convoys.
 Increase as people connected.
 Yesterday, during a time when I was alone and I have not used the vehicle management, I was offline for about 15 minutes without interruption.

Giuseppe

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #133 on: January 22, 2012, 11:30:27 AM »
Server seems to be down now.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #134 on: January 22, 2012, 01:45:14 PM »
I have restarted the server: apologies that it went down. I have also enabled logging and an automatic check as to whether the server is running every 5 minutes, and an automatic restart if it is not. That should keep it running!

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #135 on: January 22, 2012, 05:18:11 PM »
did the server crash?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #136 on: January 22, 2012, 05:27:58 PM »
Yes, as did my local client, but I couldn't reproduce it when I opened the saved game on my local machine and ran it in a debugger - the crash must have been induced by something that somebody did (the logfile suggests that people were building railways), such that I can't reproduce it.

I have used the opportunity to test the automatic restarting script, which seems to be giving some trouble.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #137 on: January 22, 2012, 05:31:25 PM »
yeah, I thought it was a crash relating to a bug as well, since my client crashed right after I desynced.
The locally save game worked fine, so I was puzzled.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18740
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #138 on: January 22, 2012, 05:46:14 PM »
Right - I have restarted the server, but my cron jobs are not running for reasons that I do not understand; even a test cron job (syntax */1 * * * * echo "TESTING" >> /var/log/simutrans/test.log) fails.

Does anyone with any experience of cron jobs have any suggestions? I have checked that the cron deamon is running, and it appears to be:

Code: [Select]
root@438242:~# ps -ef|grep cron
root       687     1  0 17:16 ?        00:00:00 cron
root      1138   948  0 17:36 pts/0    00:00:00 grep --color=auto cron

The odd thing is that it seems to have run once the very first time that it was scheduled, and to have failed thereafter. Any suggestions as to cron would be much appreciated. In the meantime, apologies for the interruption to the server.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: New Simutrans-Experimental server
« Reply #139 on: January 22, 2012, 07:36:38 PM »
Is it normal for the game to periodically save/load when playing a network game? Mine keeps doing it every few minutes, and it takes 30s or so. Not sure if it's linked to the other performance issues I've had with the game though.

I did have one other thought - the map has a lot of trees on it. When I was doing work on the UK maps, which were similarly large files, I was advised by someone (prissi?) that trees use memory/something which will decrease performance. Wondered if a 'bald' map might be worth testing?