The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Superacelerator  (Read 6419 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline marioxcc

  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • GNU is not UNIX
Superacelerator
« on: December 03, 2008, 12:40:06 AM »
I noticed than full train take a lot of time to accelerate, then i make a slope than accelerates train when loaded, of course it also deccelrates it when void.
If a full train go faster, the pay is better.
If a empty train go slower, it do not matter, because it do not carry paied cargo.
Here the screenshots with 2 different levels of acceleration:
Level 1
Level 2
See also: Spanish version of this post.

Offline colonyan

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 526
  • Full and Warm
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2008, 03:21:21 AM »
Interesting idea.
But the pay is only  based on the max. speed of the locomotive used.
program does not count how much minute and second it took.

Offline marioxcc

  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • GNU is not UNIX
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2008, 03:33:31 AM »
Sure?.
Any of the developers can clear this issue?.

Offline colonyan

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 526
  • Full and Warm
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2008, 04:06:09 AM »
Im pretty sure. I've seen saying that while ago and I remember.
By the way, eventhough its not making more money per trip, You will need less
train to keep the consumer fulfiled. That means less track and its maintenance cost.
Because it make trip faster! (of course, there is one time slope construction cost)

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2008, 02:48:13 PM »
Yes only max speed counts, the time needed for distance is irrelevant for speed bonus.

Offline marioxcc

  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • GNU is not UNIX
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2008, 11:15:07 PM »
only max speed counts
You are talking about the absolute top speed of the locomotive, or about the max speed, counting the load?

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9595
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2008, 11:21:51 PM »
The max_speed for income calculation is the theoretical maximum speed limit of the slowest car in a convoi.

Offline marioxcc

  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • GNU is not UNIX
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2008, 03:39:26 AM »
¿Then my superacelerator or trower (as vilvoh suggest) is unuseful?.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2008, 09:00:40 AM »
Not at all, money isn't everything! Faster moving trains (vs. theoretically faster) are better all the time.

Offline marioxcc

  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • GNU is not UNIX
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2008, 05:25:24 PM »
My superacelerator decrease travel time when loading, but increases travel time with void.
The full route is traveled in same time with or with no superacelerator

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2008, 09:05:15 PM »
To be honest: with this construction it looks more like a roller coaster than a railway to me 8)

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2008, 09:38:36 PM »
It could be useful before crossings...

Offline Sarrus pl

  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Languages: EN, PL
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2008, 09:45:41 AM »
It's sounds little odd to me. If I use locomotive with max speed of 100 km/h and use track max 64 km/h with one title which has 110 km/h, I will get speed bonus of 100 km/h.

Offline V813

  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Hi from Hong Kong :)
  • Languages: EN, ZH
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2008, 02:02:09 AM »
In real life, some subway (metro) tunnels use similar ideas. The tunnels are in gentle V shape, so that trains leaving a station accelerate with the aid of gravity, and trains approaching a station decelerate the same way. The overall travelling time is shortened. This Simutrans simulation is exaggerated very much, of course.

Offline marioxcc

  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • GNU is not UNIX
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2008, 03:08:45 PM »
It's sounds little odd to me. If I use locomotive with max speed of 100 km/h and use track max 64 km/h with one title which has 110 km/h, I will get speed bonus of 100 km/h.
Really?.

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Superacelerator
« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2008, 08:12:02 PM »
Quote
It's sounds little odd to me. If I use locomotive with max speed of 100 km/h and use track max 64 km/h with one title which has 110 km/h, I will get speed bonus of 100 km/h.

Really?.

Actually I'm not even sure that you really need the one tile of 110 km/h track at all...
« Last Edit: December 06, 2008, 08:47:42 PM by DirrrtyDirk »