The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Industrial stations & extensions  (Read 52563 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #70 on: June 15, 2012, 02:58:27 PM »
It seems the crane progress stalled a bit :P

Meanwhile... how about this? Another important bit for the whole thing. Comments welcome!

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #71 on: June 15, 2012, 03:36:53 PM »
Awesome idea!

It's something I wanted to do when I made the current bus stops, but failed to deliver a result...

Next will replace the present loading bay, I hope! ;)

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #72 on: June 15, 2012, 03:40:03 PM »
maybe some white or yellow road markings for the loading bay?
or even a dead end loading bay.

Offline mEGa

  • 2D painter
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • Pak128 graphics
    • mEGa_Simutrans
  • Languages: FR, EN, ru
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #73 on: June 15, 2012, 04:40:43 PM »
Very good idea !

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #74 on: June 15, 2012, 07:10:38 PM »
Can you show me what kind of markings and where they should be? I considered these, but I'm rather clueless...

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #75 on: June 15, 2012, 07:20:02 PM »
Maybe zebra marks like those for some of my tram tracks...

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #76 on: June 15, 2012, 08:26:19 PM »
Ummm... any idea, what keywords would be good for image searches?

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #77 on: June 15, 2012, 09:20:30 PM »
'loading bay'
'loading zone'
'loading dock'

seem to give good results.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #78 on: June 16, 2012, 01:38:41 PM »
How about this?

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #79 on: June 16, 2012, 09:59:44 PM »
Nice! That kind of markings are used commonly in Spain :)

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #80 on: June 16, 2012, 10:16:42 PM »
Very nice. Obviously they need to be different if the tile is the farthermost, the middle one or the nearmost.
But the concept is great.

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #81 on: June 17, 2012, 10:30:38 AM »
Really nice! :) But I'd make the painting on the road symmetrical - so that it looks equally well, when people use the "drive_left = 1" option.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #82 on: July 06, 2012, 02:30:59 PM »
So, umm... maybe final version of that truck station? Symmetrical marks etc.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/63534647/road-cargo-stop.zip

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #83 on: July 06, 2012, 02:52:54 PM »
Very nice! :thumbsup:

Just a few tips:

1) marks could be player color.

2) try to let a "hole" in the center of the stop, between the 2 loading bays. You might want to build this stop downtown (if you happen to have e.g. a supermarket there) and there might be a tram track. The tram is not supposed to stop there, but it can cross it, and the full pavement would hide the tracks.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #84 on: July 06, 2012, 03:14:21 PM »
1) What marks? Ground = blended, impossible. Edge = standardized to black & yellow. I can see why there should be payer colour, but... where? ???

2) Eh :-/ I thought BackImage is drawn before (under) ways... I'll see what can be done about this. But the middle just seems to be the right size for tram track :)

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #85 on: July 06, 2012, 03:36:53 PM »
1) Ground. You can blend player color and then "repair" it using my tool. You can take a look at the parking lot extensions, where I painfully used kerb marks in player color ;)

2) It is not. Station "back" is painted above tram tracks. Also Tunnel entrance back. You can open a bug report, if you feel it's wrong... :runaway:

Offline martin

  • Web Team
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Languages: EN, NL, DE
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #86 on: July 06, 2012, 06:45:14 PM »
I put a small (1x3 tiles) version of a container crane together which could be used for smaller (end)stations...

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #87 on: July 07, 2012, 05:41:57 AM »
martin
The Container cran in Photo looks good out.
Can you please post the Containtercran i will be test him.

Offline martin

  • Web Team
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Languages: EN, NL, DE
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #88 on: July 08, 2012, 07:34:57 PM »
OK, here it is. I coded it as an extension with no waytype assigned to it. You'll find it under "Special Construction Tools" menu

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #89 on: July 08, 2012, 09:12:58 PM »
martin
thank you for the containercran!
i can now testing it.

Offline mEGa

  • 2D painter
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • Pak128 graphics
    • mEGa_Simutrans
  • Languages: FR, EN, ru
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #90 on: July 10, 2012, 05:03:43 PM »
I tested crane. Good art work.
Martin I have few suggestions :

1) complete pakset :
Why do not create another single plateform with just rail of crane and few waiting containers ? See yellow square in my screenshot ?

2) amelioration of crane design :
I suggest to you make an antialiazing pixel to break edge as I made in green square.

What do U mean about it ?


Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #91 on: July 10, 2012, 05:35:13 PM »
The crane could have something in player colour?

Offline mEGa

  • 2D painter
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • Pak128 graphics
    • mEGa_Simutrans
  • Languages: FR, EN, ru
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #92 on: July 10, 2012, 05:49:02 PM »
The crane could have something in player colour?
Good idea... May be in center of arm as a painted logo of firm ?

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #93 on: July 10, 2012, 05:52:50 PM »
Yes thats a good idea!

Offline martin

  • Web Team
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Languages: EN, NL, DE
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #94 on: July 10, 2012, 08:33:43 PM »
Quote
1) complete pakset :
Why do not create another single plateform with just rail of crane and few waiting containers ? See yellow square in my screenshot ?

2) amelioration of crane design :
I suggest to you make an antialiazing pixel to break edge as I made in green square.

1) That's no problem to create.  However I made it as a single extension to make it easy to use and to prevent an overcrowded "special contruction tools" menu. Maybe station extensions can get their own sub-menu from "special contruction tools" especially with more station-extensions in the making... Another thing to work out is how to group the related parts together in the menu. 
@VS: Any opinion on this?


2) Antialiasing the edges is no problem. I'll look into that.

Quote
The crane could have something in player colour?Good idea... May be in center of arm as a painted logo of firm ?

I'm not sure about a logo in player color since the player can choose from a lot of colors and not in all combinations the logo will stand out or look too great... A logo in itself is not the problem. Another option is to make the legs of the crane playercolor #1 and the beam playercolor #2. After all we can select two player colors.


Offline martin

  • Web Team
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Languages: EN, NL, DE
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #95 on: July 17, 2012, 08:11:44 PM »
I've done the antialiasing and repainted the containercrane in playercolours #1 and #2.

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #96 on: July 17, 2012, 08:22:20 PM »
Cool.
Good work.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #97 on: July 17, 2012, 08:24:57 PM »
Fantastic! I am away for a few weeks, but you can commit, so feel free to go ahead.... ;)

Offline mEGa

  • 2D painter
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • Pak128 graphics
    • mEGa_Simutrans
  • Languages: FR, EN, ru
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #98 on: July 19, 2012, 09:42:49 AM »
Brilliant ! I vote for it ;)

Offline Masu

  • *
  • Posts: 112
    • Canal Youtube Masu
  • Languages: EN, ES, IT, CAT
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #99 on: September 24, 2012, 08:45:54 AM »
Hey!

I have been testing this addons and i found a bug.

When i rotate the map, in VS model graphics disapear.





PD: real nice addons ;), great work!

I leave here a video where u can see this addons:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Ekd5vybEWE

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #100 on: October 07, 2012, 02:25:54 PM »
The huge crane is in r963 or whatever the number is... *dies*

The truck platform is still not ready... but will be.

And there's a ton of stuff from Zeno to go through...



I guess there is no denying I abuse ellipsis, so here you get at least one exclamation mark! For diversity!
:D

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #101 on: October 09, 2012, 09:29:17 PM »
Doublepost, mwahaha! But something changed.

Current state of truck stop, on all roads and with all tram tracks. Please keep in mind that it is meant for asphalt roads, not dirt et al. IMHO it looks reasonable on 70 and 90 kph ones, where it is intended, and city roads too. But criticize anyway (as if you would not :P ).

screenshot:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/63534647/hightruckstop-preview.png
(> 500 kB)

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #102 on: October 09, 2012, 09:41:59 PM »
These stops look very nice. I thought we were never going to have an alternative to our beloved truck stop! :)

About my stuff, I'll have to take some control of it, really. IIRC we decided it's not still the correct color on the tiles, so it was needed to render again those cranes. Next week I hope to have a little more spare time for it.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #103 on: October 09, 2012, 09:50:36 PM »
Nice, although I would personally use the "standard" asphalt (i.e. the one used in city roads)within the loading bay marks (leaving only the central stripe for trams which happen to pass). Like this it looks fabulous on asphalted roads (and cobblestone as well), but it's quite ugly on dirt roads, gravel roads and the like.

Another thing: middle sections of the stop should have the stripes edited to have a seamless pattern, instead of starting and ending straight (which is great for start and end) and zig-zagging only in the middle of the tile.
(Something like the bus stops)
Also the straight lines should be 1.5 px thick (for consistency with all the other road marks), using a px of a darker player color shade.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Industrial stations & extensions
« Reply #104 on: October 10, 2012, 06:08:24 AM »
Hmmm. I will see what can be done about this... the list finally seems manageable ;)



So... There is a conflict. With or without asphalt included in the part with stripes?

* Without: Breaks on gravel, dirt and unknown number of potential add-ons, due to smaller width.

* With: Potentially visually clashes with different colour of roads. Not "just a ramp" any longer.

Which price do you like better / wish to pay?



A couple of author's notes, so that you understand the situation better:

Originally, I envisioned this as a piece for heavy industrial stations outside cities. It matches the structures intended for railway. For industrial settings, I expected the two asphalt roads, and tried to optimize for these. In my aesthetic view, tram tracks or dirt roads have nothing to do around this. That the sidewalk fits is a nice coincidence, since all roads share the same dimensions of driving area. I am currently contemplating another road, to match all the pieces, which would have very bright surface compared to these, and might work great with this. Adding a solid piece of road would mean another choice, this time between dark asphalt ant the hypothetical lighter surface. Either way, the result ill not look so well in the other setting.

Still, it is impossible to tell people what to do with this in game, so all Fabio's points cannot be dismissed. So I am torn. I have my perfect idea how this should work and look, but it seems impossible to have.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2012, 03:37:58 PM by VS »