The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Unlimited consumption of factories  (Read 6125 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Unlimited consumption of factories
« on: August 15, 2012, 02:36:40 PM »
I found one very serious bug in behaviour of factories.

I connected coal mine with power plant - and coal mine produces coal permanently - without regard of power plant has sufficient amount of coal to burn. And so train enlisted on line with coal for power plant goes on - and more and more coal is waiting on station - and more and more coal is waiting to burn in power plant.

And all other factories show this strange behaviour too. I don't know if it is in some config (but I don't believe in it) or elsewhere.

... I will try to look for this bug in else game that I play with pak128. I have there some factories that are sufficiently close to each other that this bug (if it is in base) would be proven.


So, I tested this in pak128 ... and ït really seems be matter of pakset, not of base.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2012, 02:55:09 PM by VaclavMacurek »

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Unlimited consumption of factories
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2012, 02:57:26 PM »
it is an system problem, because it can happen with any pakset.
Previously, I proposed that consumers demand what they want, instead of producers flooding the market with what they were able to produce. Or something like that anyways. I do not recall which thread it was either, but I do recall people being interested in it as well as opposition.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Unlimited consumption of factories
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 03:57:49 PM »
So, do you think that new game would not have this problem?

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Unlimited consumption of factories
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2012, 04:25:09 PM »
I don't think it has been coded yet.

Offline TurfIt

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1326
Re: Unlimited consumption of factories
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2012, 04:58:16 PM »
And you're sure you've set the just_in_time parameter?
Last I looked, pak96.comic has this set =0 by default which results in as you described.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Unlimited consumption of factories
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2012, 06:44:09 PM »
TurfIt, thanks - set on 1 and it seems it is right now. I only hope that this settings will survive re-load of game*.

* It is something that needs to be corrected. Some settings set in game (for example tree_info - I called this some time ago) will not be saved - and so after loading of game it will be enabled or disabled, based on default statement (but not at all, because for example tree_info I have disabled and it is always enabled on start of game or after re-loading of game).