The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Speed buffers  (Read 4477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Speed buffers
« on: December 25, 2008, 06:49:04 AM »
Speed Buffers are based on reality. Imagine, what would happen to the passengers standing near, if a train (in Simutrans: high quality track, high speed track, maglevs, etc...) with a speed above around 200 km/h would pass by?

Well, from the Japanese maglevs, (based on YouTube) a maglev slows down, to an acceptable speed, namely 140 km/h, before it enters the first tile, of a station, where, when it stops, (it enters, the last station tile of a station, (or a track tile, before), with the first car (carriage), and where it stops with the last car), the passengers can get on/off. Similarly, vice versa (when the train leaves the first station tile of a station, with the last car (carriage), and where it stops with the first car). That said, in simutrans this can be programmed by placing a button (probably in the train tool, panel) in which you can place an invisible speed buffer, for the trains on track, to follow.
Why a special tool, when you can just program it to run automatically, in the game?
Well … because, of the new world record for trains addition in the game, itself. At times an express train, can pass by, especially, on a track especially designed for new world records (In Real Life and/or Simutrans), so the train don’t have to slow down for every station, if there are many, close and/or consecutively, together. In some maps, this may happen…

I got this idea, because of two things:

1. In Simutrans (probably the same for any other real-world simulation), the trains just go at top speed through any station, even if it is not an important station (express trains) = not safe for passangers if at, for example 500km/h.

2. I picked this idea from industry, you know, buffers for personnel, manufacturing and/or product safety: safety of passengers from top speeds of trains. 


Can this be created in Simutrans, by any chance?  :-\
« Last Edit: January 08, 2009, 06:00:31 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2008, 09:48:52 AM »
Simply use a slower track for the station area: first build track ===----===, then ===[[[[=== station. Done.

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2008, 11:05:51 AM »
Simply use a slower track for the station area: first build track ===----===, then ===[[[[=== station. Done.

Thanks, VS.

But It might be ... not necessarily a slower track. What about a slower elctrification of track?  :-\

What about for maglevs?
« Last Edit: December 25, 2008, 11:16:25 AM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2008, 11:49:59 AM »
You are right, I didn't think of that.

Since almost no graphic is needed, it is just a question of writing a dat file and putting one black dot into the picture :)

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2008, 01:23:12 PM »
You are right, I didn't think of that.

Since almost no graphic is needed, it is just a question of writing a dat file and putting one black dot into the picture :)

Thanks again, VS.

If you don't really want to produce a graphic, for this menubutton, that's fine with me. It can be a white simutrans menubutton with the wrtting as you roll over it: "Place Speed Buffer" or something like that. But ... It needs to be a special tool. What if a certain player wants to run an express service through (to achieve the new world record for trains addition in the game), for example, ten evenly (well ... basically/variably) distanced stations, not stopping at, say, 7 of them. You only place the speed buffers, before and after, for the stations needed. :) And other trains can use same track to carry passangers from the other stations not serviced by the express trains. :) 8)
« Last Edit: January 03, 2009, 10:27:23 AM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline jbode

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2009, 11:49:47 PM »
Or possibly introduce a speed limit for railwaystations? should be the most simple solution ...

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2009, 08:08:58 AM »
Or possibly introduce a speed limit for railwaystations? should be the most simple solution ...

Thanks, jbode. :)

What about if a player wants to run an express train through it... ? :-\ :-\

Offline jbode

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2009, 08:16:41 AM »
What about if a player wants to run an express train through it... ?
Express trains have to slow down too ... allowed speed is/should be a function of the head wind. From the aspect of proper traffic system layout mixing of different speed trains is not ideal anyway. You could - in case you feel the slowdown too problematic - use a bypass system. As its done in reality.

Jörg

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2009, 09:12:38 AM »
Express trains have to slow down too ... allowed speed is/should be a function of the head wind. From the aspect of proper traffic system layout mixing of different speed trains is not ideal anyway. You could - in case you feel the slowdown too problematic - use a bypass system. As its done in reality.

Jörg

GREAT IDEA (even BETTER than my own ;) :) ) AND GOOD POINT, Jorg. :) So how would you switch between a speed limit (slow down mode) and/or a bypass system, in Simutrans and how will this be implemented? :-\ :-\

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2009, 09:46:12 AM »
Or possibly introduce a speed limit for railwaystations? should be the most simple solution ...

I support this idea

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9472
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Speed buffers
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2009, 10:45:01 AM »
If you use low speed track for braking, then high speed train wayfinder would try to route around anyway, if the penalty (curvewise) is not too high.