The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: No bulldozing of reserved tracks  (Read 3786 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« on: January 05, 2009, 06:58:34 AM »
A reserved track shouldn't be able to be cut/bulldozed.
This would force the player to put a track block sign or an alternative route for the working site.
And this would prevent a lot of problems with trains/trams getting stuck because they enter a construction site.
If you try to bulldoze a reserved track, a window should be displayed, alerting the player that "This operation cannot be done because a train reserved this track".

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 07:07:21 AM »
Yes, speaking of a realistic sense.

What about if that track absolutely needs to be buldozed to make way for a road, and also replacing it by a railway bridge? :-\

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 07:19:00 AM »
well, there are signals to block a track (and they also "break" the reservation).
the idea is that replacing a piece of track  with, say, a bridge, without such a block sign, could end up with a train passing and being stuck on the bridge slope. this way you can't place the bridge and you are forced to manually re-schedule the train to free your slope and place the bridge. this is too much micromanagement for my taste.

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 07:23:10 AM »
True in most cases.

Allright, sorry fabio.

 ??? EDIT: I sometimes could place bridges even if train got stuck, near the end of a track...
« Last Edit: January 05, 2009, 07:28:58 AM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline wipi35

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 250
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
  • Languages: NL,EN,GE,FR
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2009, 09:01:09 AM »
What about doing such reconstructions when the game is "paused"

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2009, 09:11:06 AM »
I think that's a swell idea. ;) :D

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9512
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2009, 09:21:05 AM »
If you bulldoze a reserved tile, the train will only get stuck, when there is no alternative route. It could be also changed in such a way, that the train stops and start route search. However this would give an immediate "no route" message, which did annoy other player. Forbidding construction is not good, since I have to manually stop the train, since those forbidden to do windows are most annoying to game play.

Offline isidoro

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1129
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2009, 04:51:28 AM »
What I do is waiting for the first train  to come and open its schedule window.  It stops, blocks the rail and I can build in peace.

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2009, 05:10:05 AM »
I've always done it that way. ;) :)

Offline Peyo

  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2009, 05:12:04 AM »
What I do is waiting for the first train  to come and open its schedule window.  It stops, blocks the rail and I can build in peace.


I've tried it a couple of times and I think this really is a good idea. :)

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9512
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2009, 09:30:53 PM »
What is the first train? The train that has reserved that tile, I presume? But if this tile was not reserved and I destroy it, trains will get stuck again. I fail to see the advantage.

Offline isidoro

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1129
Re: No bulldozing of reserved tracks
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2009, 03:55:02 AM »
I use the first train or one carefully chosen to make it stop by opening the schedule window so that it blocks all traffic in the zone while I do reconstruction work.