The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Upper electrification  (Read 4188 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3230
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Upper electrification
« on: February 10, 2009, 12:50:17 PM »
Upper electrification for speed 160 kilometers per hour is missing.
I would like to see this electrification in game - because almost all freight trains cannot go faster and using electrification for speed 280 km/h is decreasing profit and using of third-rail (or also fourht-rail) electrification for engines what are constructed for upper electrification is very strange - if almost all vehicles in game use only upper electrification.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18593
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Upper electrification
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2009, 05:36:30 PM »
Which pakset are you using? The electrification types vary by pakset.

Offline KrazyJay

  • *
  • Posts: 172
  • Infrastructure & Transportation Junk
Re: Upper electrification
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2009, 06:34:22 PM »
This may be pak128. The caternary comes in 4 versions;
  • 1: Old catenary, 15¢ (2¢), 110km/h
  • 2: Third rail electrification, 150¢ (8¢), 160km/h
  • 3: Standard catenary, 150¢ (12¢), 280km/h
  • 4: Highspeed catenary, 600¢ (20¢), 400km/h

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18593
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Upper electrification
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2009, 08:50:00 PM »
I always found it confusing that one can use trains with pantographs on "third rail" electrification...

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Upper electrification
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2009, 09:34:47 PM »
Hmmmm... it could be replaced and problem solved :P Only where to get the graphics...

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18593
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Upper electrification
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2009, 10:31:40 PM »
The problem will also be solved in Simutrans-Experimental by not allowing 3rd rail vehicles to run on lines with overhead power and vice versa... ;-)

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3230
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Upper electrification
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2009, 10:56:54 AM »
Which pakset are you using? The electrification types vary by pakset.
pak128 (on Windows)
« Last Edit: March 06, 2009, 11:11:53 AM by VaclavMacurek »