The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Tracks replacement project for pak 128  (Read 122419 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tonu

  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #315 on: November 29, 2012, 06:55:54 PM »
I recompiled with makeobj 55 and the bug gets fixed. Thanks!

Offline HDomos

  • *
  • Posts: 153
  • Languages: EN, DE, FR, HU
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #316 on: December 02, 2012, 12:33:20 AM »

On the 200km/h tunnel entrance, there is a white line (arc) on the right side.

And the top left corner of both entrance is a bit strange (not anti-aliased)...
(I noticed the second only when i zoomed in to take a picture of the first :D)

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #317 on: December 06, 2012, 12:36:48 AM »
I also found a light blue stripe in the diagonal tracks (independent of the player colour):

Regards

It should be fixed in r1078.

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #318 on: December 06, 2012, 03:57:22 PM »
Fabio
Your work bring me on cool ideas.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #319 on: December 13, 2012, 10:53:26 PM »
Freight (60 & 80 km/h) tracks, bridges and tunnel are now in r1099.

Here's the bridges:









Just few are missing now.

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #320 on: December 17, 2012, 01:39:29 AM »
posting on github on the work on this project:
https://plus.google.com/115377746519459832106/posts/LwhaN5uBaJ1
Quote
A Glimpse of Fabio Gonellas work

To get an impression of the incredible amount of work involved with Fabio Gonella's new rail project, have a look at this commit*. It is only one of many of similar extend. Not only did he have to pain a large number of images, but also cut them into appropriate tiles, take care of front and back images (something that is displayed before or behind a passing train) and write extensive dat files defining how the images are assembled by the game engine.


*A commit, in a version control system, is a bundle of changes to the previous version. The presentation of it on github shows what was added and what was removed.

(gs)
#simutrans   #simutranspak128  
links to: https://github.com/pak128svn/simutrans-pak128/commit/f0a5e0095c36be468cef3f8324c6112b9548b791

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #321 on: December 17, 2012, 05:00:07 PM »
Sdog
want you clone the data from simutrans.svn.sourceforge.net on github?

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #322 on: December 17, 2012, 05:11:16 PM »
greenling, we are already doing so for half a year or so:
https://github.com/pak128svn/simutrans-pak128

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #323 on: December 17, 2012, 05:52:33 PM »
sdog
i think that´s better it all orginal data for Pak128 Standart to park at on simutrans.svn.sourceforge.net
and the data for Pak128 exp on the github server.

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #324 on: December 17, 2012, 06:19:59 PM »
all the data is on the SVN greenling, github is only a copy. It is helpful if someone develops on git, or use the nice overview of the changes at github. (it has very nice graphical representation).

But you are in one thing absolutely right, i ought to clearly state that it is only a copy of the SVN.

Offline dekema2

  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #325 on: December 23, 2012, 06:27:47 AM »
Thank you sdog!

Of course the golden age of truss bridges was in the first third of 20th century. Iron bridges are rarer in recent times, but not unheard of.

This bridge was opened in Strasbourg in 2010: http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-11969371

This one (road) was built in 2005  in upstate New York: http://bridgehunter.com/ny/niagara/prospect-street/

I favor a consistent look over engineering accuracy. This bridge is to replace the 200 km/h one, so it better look similar, but somehow upgraded, on steroids.

Also bridge design is strictly limited in Simutrans. Most modern steel bridges are a single through arch. Here we can't reproduce them, or they look ridiculous with a 1 tile span.

Believe it or not I went under the second bridge before. This is the Erie Canal. There is even an upside down truss bridge in this same city. Losts of nridges.

Offline tonu

  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #326 on: December 23, 2012, 09:37:32 PM »
The complete track set is great! Excellent work. As the speeds of the tracks has changed, maybe the electrifications' speeds would be changed:
110 km/h --> 100 km/h
160 km/h --> 180 km/h (and change the intersections, they are curved and new tracks are oblique)
280 km/h --> 240 km/h
400 km/h no change
What do you think?

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #327 on: December 24, 2012, 12:12:43 AM »
Thank you Tonu!

Definitely electrification must be changed somehow, maybe adding some new catenary as well.

Offline almaf

  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Languages: ES, EN
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #328 on: January 03, 2013, 08:00:43 PM »
I found this crossing without signals and wrong color scheme.
I don't know if is intentional or not.

See attached image. Only happens with a 60 and 80 km/h track.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #329 on: January 03, 2013, 09:49:23 PM »
This is the "slow" crossing (relatively rare). Colour is not intended, just forgotten. Old tracks were bright like that piece. The other crossing matches the new ones only by chance as well.

I'll see what can be done about this...

edit: Fix committed :) Too late to bother with screenshots and that, sorry...
« Last Edit: January 03, 2013, 10:14:57 PM by VS »

Offline dennosius

  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #330 on: January 10, 2013, 02:41:38 PM »
Great work! I'm really enjoying the new tunnels and (high) tracks.

Just a remark on the 400km/h track (also applies to the 320): It takes (320: almost) the whole tile, so it connects if built as a double track - but it splits up if built diagonally. My idea would be to leave away the concrete and have a fence around it instead.

The grey concete also makes those tracks look too bold in my eyes. This is of course a matter of taste and high-speed tracks may attract some attention, but a double high speed track attracts too much optical attention.

And another idea (a propos fence):

In my "first Simutrans life", I played with pak.german and it had (and probably still has) fences. That fence is really nice, at it allows city planning a bit. I know Simutrans is not SimCity, but I still like to do city planning a bit, also because how the AI builds city roads... So putting a fence around (meaning on both sides besides it) a fast road prevented a city from claiming the road as a city road and emerge in that direction, for example.

As Simutrans doesn't know fences, I think how they implemented it was as a railway (or narrow gauge or whatever) track with a minimal maxspeed, but still put it to the other tools menu. I'd love to have such fence in pak128.

Offline mEGa

  • 2D painter
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • Pak128 graphics
    • mEGa_Simutrans
  • Languages: FR, EN, ru
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #331 on: January 10, 2013, 04:23:38 PM »
Hi,
you can use french addon for fence :
http://www.simutrans-france.fr.nf/doku.php?id=en:fences

AlexSmith

  • Guest
Re: Tracks replacement project for pak 128
« Reply #332 on: October 29, 2013, 07:29:47 PM »
@ASV62 and guys ...

I used one of your images (the one with bridges) to make a review of Simutrans for my trains gaming blog.
I also linked to the official site (download page) and used the official logo too (hopefully that's ok).
Plz check the Simutrans review here and let me know if it is OK to use all that and of course feel free to let me know what you think about the review itself.
BTW, I am a Simutrans fan but barely a newbie ...