The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Make heightmap  (Read 420 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Join Simutrans Discord: https://discord.gg/fpXY772
  • Languages: SV, EN, FI
Make heightmap
« on: June 05, 2018, 03:59:22 PM »
Hi, for my project to make a city I had to do a heightmap.
But, I've followed the tutorial, but the colors named don't work. They're different in RGB-values but look the same...
I've tried in newest MS Paint, downloaded MS Paint 98 and tried GIMP, but none of them works...
The tutorial I follow is this: https://maps.simutrans.com/tutorial.html

What do I do wrong?

Image uploaded here so you can help: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Iili1EvnHU0elOnUKbBDqOYyEwJWfc0y/view?usp=sharing

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: Make heightmap
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2018, 06:31:51 PM »
the colors named don't work. They're different in RGB-values but look the same...
I can't understand, please explain more. The image looks fine, just need to change the colours to grey.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1547
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Make heightmap
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2018, 06:35:05 PM »
As an_dz said, the finished version needs to be in grayscale - like the last examples in the link you gave.

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Join Simutrans Discord: https://discord.gg/fpXY772
  • Languages: SV, EN, FI
Re: Make heightmap
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2018, 09:49:08 PM »
I can't understand, please explain more. The image looks fine, just need to change the colours to grey.

The named grey-scale colors doesn’t seem to work... Here’s an explanation:
When I fill in the darkest grey in the red area, it’s fine, but when I continue, all the greys look the same but have different RGB-values. Will it work when two areas have the same (visual) color? And some are very different... I must use like every other color for difference, but then there’s not enough colors before it’s white... Hope it’s clearer now for you to understand!

Offline Junna

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1081
Re: Make heightmap
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2018, 09:52:02 PM »
Yeah, it is hard to see but does make a difference when the map is imported.

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: Make heightmap
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2018, 09:53:19 PM »
If they have different RGBs it should work. If you can't see difference your screen may not be correctly calibrated.

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Join Simutrans Discord: https://discord.gg/fpXY772
  • Languages: SV, EN, FI
Re: Make heightmap
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2018, 08:59:51 PM »
The problem was that my screen was not calibrated...
After I calibrated my screen I could see the differences between the greys clearly.
Thank you!

Here's my final map of Östersund (png): https://drive.google.com/file/d/1tBr-8tRUp0L7yHelD_iJtau6Q-RJ4wxV/view?usp=sharing

But the tutorial said that I should save it in bmp (bitmap) because it was better and clearer than other formats, but when I exported it in 256-colored BMP I can see loss of color.
When published in PNG it has all of them... Here's the BMP: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IWt-qyiDO9mmSPQz7-C7jijQv_2Rbd61/view?usp=sharing
Is it possible to use PNG instead of BMP when converting it to PPM?

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: Make heightmap
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2018, 11:00:48 PM »
If you're going to convert to PPM it does not matter the original format, PNG is the best because it's lossless. BMP is 'easier' for the converter and it's also lossless.

As for this BMP you're probably exporting it in some specific format of BMP, maybe the software you are using is setting web safe colours.

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Join Simutrans Discord: https://discord.gg/fpXY772
  • Languages: SV, EN, FI
Re: Make heightmap
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2018, 01:59:27 PM »
Ok. Then I'll use this converter that I found online and start to build my hometown...
Thank you all for your help!

https://www.online-utility.org/image/convert/to/PPM