The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Estuaries  (Read 3573 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18690
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Estuaries
« on: May 15, 2010, 12:52:05 AM »
As shown in the attached screenshot, currently, tidal rivers do not have wide estuaries when they meet with the sea. It would, I think, enhance both appearance and gameplay challenges if tidal rivers such as that shown could be generated with estuaries (i.e. - they get wider when they get near the sea) to match their real life counterparts.

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 09:28:18 AM »
Well, an estuary is more or less the end of a river, asuming all rivers in game end up in the sea, so a possible solution would be to create a end tile for rivers that represents the estuary.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18690
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2010, 12:02:20 PM »
I'm not quite sure how that would work to make estuaries wider than they are now...?

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2010, 05:12:49 PM »
more of a problem for experimental, where the tile size can be set to 250 m. In standard the tile size is already 1 km, that should be enough for estuaries.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18690
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2010, 06:04:07 PM »
What counts is the relative size of the estuary compared to the width of the river itself. The shape of the river mouths is currently incorrect.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9512
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2010, 06:36:28 PM »
The river gets wider: It is a full tile plus two border tiles at the lowest hight level.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18690
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2010, 06:43:13 PM »
The estuaries don't seem to widen enough in proportion to the width of the pre-estuary tidal river, though, as in the picture.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2010, 08:06:47 PM »
I can't help but notice that there aren't actually any river tiles in that screenshot, only sea.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18690
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2010, 09:05:39 PM »
I can't help but notice that there aren't actually any river tiles in that screenshot, only sea.

Tidal rivers are generated in game by lowering a channel of land to sea level on map generation.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9512
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2010, 10:30:30 PM »
That is the widening ...

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18690
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Estuaries
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2010, 10:40:29 PM »
That is the widening ...

Yes, but they'd widen further just before they reached the sea.