The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)  (Read 6498 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KneeOn

  • *
  • Posts: 104
I've not painted for any PAK in just under a year, and not for PAK96 for over a year! But i'm dying (well manflu!) and I like the style.

Its just a rough mock up of British Rail Class 377. (the ones i'm literally a matter of meters from in my room with the train line right behind me!)

Its got a Southern Livery with player colours.

Note: Ignore the name of the attachment, it says 375 but it is 377.

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2010, 10:50:51 AM »
It's fine but imho it's a little bit boxy...

Offline KneeOn

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2010, 11:27:09 AM »
Thanks for the feedback!  :)

I've think taken a bit of the boxness out of it... I'm not sure i've taken enough out though.

The side view on this one is far better though IMO.

Edit: I forgot to make a change to the second diagonal so it still had a bit of box to it, fixed though.

Offline sojo

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2010, 12:34:03 PM »
Nice, but I have changes some things:

1. Last picture: 1 pixel more roof and 1 pixel less at side.
2. Wheels should are only one pixel in height.

I think you can make more contrast at the roof.

Offline KneeOn

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2010, 12:37:23 PM »
I wasn't sure about how much wheel to make  :P I thought 1 looked too little and 2 looked too much! either that or my wheels full stop weren't very good (i ccouldn't ever get them right!)

I like the changes! Even though it wouldn't be accurate, a simple single coloured dark grey roof with a black line in the middle might look better... I'll play about and put up the changes I make.

EDIT:

Changes made:
- Added orange display board to diagonal images (i forgot to add them when i added them to the last image)
- Roof is now solid dark grey, with a black line down the middle where applicable (all bar the last images)

Second Edit: man flu is really affecting me! I forgot to draw the black line on the 3rd image. Fixed.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 12:51:45 PM by KneeOn »

Offline sojo

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2010, 12:50:43 PM »
- Roof is now solid dark grey, with a black line down the middle where applicable (all bar the last images)
Sorry you have me missunderstood.

I mean only you should make at the roof the old dark color a bit darker and the light color a bit lighter.

Offline KneeOn

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2010, 12:57:27 PM »
Sorry you have me missunderstood.

I mean only you should make at the roof the old dark color a bit darker and the light color a bit lighter.

I see, i've made the lighter tone lighter and the darker tone darker.

Offline sojo

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2010, 01:29:15 PM »
I had reworked the roof in all pictures.

And I had found a problem with shadows at picture 1 and 2. Have a look I have it repainted.Now, the new colors are not player-colors! Can you change this?

Offline KneeOn

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2010, 01:33:20 PM »
Took me a second to think of what you meant by shadow issues but I've realized that I don't pay attention to the sun when painting!

I sure can turn the colours to player colours!

And I hadn't realized you had done the roof in the images :P Very nice, I need to pay attention more! I'll do the colours now, and then post it

EDIT: Posted, player colours and shadowing FTW!
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 01:39:59 PM by KneeOn »

Offline sojo

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2010, 03:46:04 PM »
Have you some ideas for the dat? Speed, Weight and so?

Offline KneeOn

  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: I'm back with a brand new track (well train actually... BR Class 377!)
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2010, 03:58:14 PM »
I've not. IRL it goes 160, weighs 131 tonnes.

I'm going to estimate a 80/100 capacity based on fully seated and standing although the 377's that go to London probably have 125/150 people on them standing (its horrible!)

I've made a random dat with 100 capacity, 155 speed to check if it worked and it did. I found that the last image looked too long so i'e shortened it. The special colours work. Here is the new PNG, and a sample dat and the PAK file i made. You've got credit Sojo for the help  ;D