The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: tram depot clipping error  (Read 4569 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline uci

  • *
  • Posts: 120
  • Without owner
  • Languages: EN, RO
tram depot clipping error
« on: April 05, 2011, 10:40:54 AM »
The picture attached shows a clipping error
when a vehicle exit a tram depot
(last stable + pak128.open.r1148).

Not sure if this bug belongs to pak128
or is more generic.

-uci-


Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 11:12:20 AM »
Thanks for the report!

Yes, this is a bug in the pak. Depots should be split into two layers, which are then shown as back-vehicle-front so that everything looks correct. Unfortunately, here we have everything in front layer... I remember most of the depots being fixed in the past, so this will be another. Strange that it didn't bother anyone ;)

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3230
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 07:44:26 PM »
I often ignore such bugs if they are not too much visible. And because I don't use trams often, it could left my sight well.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2011, 07:50:27 PM »
Yes, it's certainly not gameplay-critical :)

Fixed with rev. 1252, I hope!

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3230
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2011, 09:14:05 PM »
We shall see what we shall see  ;) - after nightlies pages will be corrected and new nightlies will be available again  :D.

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4555
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2011, 06:51:17 AM »
I remeber seeing similar issues with tunnels. Dont know whether they are fixed already or not.

Offline uci

  • *
  • Posts: 120
  • Without owner
  • Languages: EN, RO
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 06:50:32 AM »
Some clipping problems exist with the tunnels (see images),
but I think they are of different nature. Can be fixed?

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2011, 07:13:00 AM »
Probably yes, we'll see...

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2011, 07:18:50 AM »
Some clipping problems exist with the tunnels (see images),
but I think they are of different nature. Can be fixed?
Some of these with tunnels depend on the alignment of vehicles, and i think they CAN be fixed.
But tunnels are a bit tricky if they don't span over the whole slope. This is program-wise. It would need a kind of "Concealing Transparency" special colour: show the ground below but hide the vehicle objects...

The picture attached shows a clipping error
when a vehicle exit a tram depot
Back to tram depots, they look a bit too small for my taste. They should be
1- a bit taller
2- a bit wider
at least to conceal the catenary posts on the back...

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2011, 07:24:54 AM »
I agree with both points - but for the time being, we have to do with what we got :)

The tram depot in particular doesn't even make me think "tram depot", it looks like a roundhouse (?) with the turntable missing.

Rail tunnels are worth fixing even short-term, road ones I'll leave for you (Fabio).

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: tram depot clipping error
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2011, 08:23:23 PM »
I'm looking at Fabio's tunnels and there are really hard problems. Even if a tunnel mouth covers the whole tile surface, vehicles will be partially visible on the distant side. This is really a shortcoming of the current system, I'm afraid. Any amount of painting and tinkering won't fix this, except for drastic pakset-wide changes.

Or... if there is a proven cure, I'm listening eagerly :)