The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Station extensions under track?  (Read 3828 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline omikron

  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Languages: EN, DE, NO, FR, EE
Station extensions under track?
« on: February 09, 2012, 01:02:45 PM »
I have a station that is situated above ground level (see screenshot). does there exist any station extensions that would make the dirt-sides below the track more station-like? It could be something like the Berlin Railway station, where the North-South tracks are at level -1 whereas the East-West tracks are at level 4 or so. Can this kind of set-up be organised in simutrans at all?

omikron

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Station extensions under track?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 01:10:34 PM »
Having a road around limits your options somewhat, since you can't build "in the wall", only next to it... And yes, there could be at least one such building around, although I think it needs some love regarding rotations (the images existed, not sure where they are). The whole trick is to have a "fake front" at the back of a tile.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Station extensions under track?
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 01:21:52 PM »
"Fake fronts" were available as addons in the Japanese site... you might go and look for them if you're interested.

Sorry, I have no link!

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Station extensions under track?
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2012, 02:47:49 PM »
One Link coming up, sir: http://japanese.simutrans.com/index.php?Addon128%2FRailTools%201 about two thirds down that page, "City Stationblg" by 684k , date 2005/09/18. These are the only fake fronts I'm aware of.

But IIRC they do not have 4 rotations...

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 958
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: Station extensions under track?
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2012, 03:08:40 PM »
I am willing paint a British equivalent, if someone could suggest some fotos of good stations of the "false fronts" or any of those add-on stations.  Did you notice how the large add-on stations are defined as several different component buildings?  That lets you mix and match, for stations large or small.  I am thinking... perhaps a set of station extensions that will let you build London Victoria, in the different eras?

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Station extensions under track?
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2012, 04:40:31 PM »

The fake front would still look a bit strange with grass on top and stand out in front of the incline.

A better looking alternative would be to build elevated way, and create a regular station extension that fits snuggly into the arches.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Station extensions under track?
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2012, 08:38:40 PM »
I am willing paint a British equivalent, if someone could suggest some fotos of good stations of the "false fronts" or any of those add-on stations.  Did you notice how the large add-on stations are defined as several different component buildings?  That lets you mix and match, for stations large or small.  I am thinking... perhaps a set of station extensions that will let you build London Victoria, in the different eras?
It would have to be made to go on a road-tile to fit in with the urban scale of pak.gb I think. The pak.japan tiles create a paved forecourt and take a whole tile.

Most of the stations I know on urban viaducts tend to have a building adjacent, as at the former GWR station at Twerton (near Bath). Within the viaduct/embankment there isn't enough width to get up to the platforms. Another reason it should go on a road tile.



A better looking alternative would be to build elevated way, and create a regular station extension that fits snuggly into the arches.
Solid brick arches would also be good to get in game, whether 'inhabited (below) or just solid (as at Twerton).


Offline omikron

  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Languages: EN, DE, NO, FR, EE
Re: Station extensions under track?
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2012, 08:54:42 PM »
Thanks for your comments and ideas, which I quite like. I'm wondering if it would be possible to create a building acting like a tunnel entrance, which is both above and below grond, but unlike tunnel entrances can be built on top of? This would obviously best be placed in sliced underground mode.

But maybe that would require some change to the code? Buildings, on top of which another building/track may exist...

omikron