The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?  (Read 13032 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Just curious... I make using Paint.NET (sometimes GIMP and normal Paint).

Offline Isaac Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3912
  • Providing hosting for Simutrans projects
    • pc2.io
  • Languages: EN
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 08:08:42 AM »
I use Photoshop, because I'm fortunate to have it; and I like using layers - it works well for the type of things I do.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2010, 08:14:19 AM »
I use Photoshop...

I always wanted to have Photoshop... now I need to buy -.-

...I like using layers - it works well for the type of things I do.

Me too. Layers are the MOST important thing to use for.

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2010, 08:28:41 AM »
The GIMP also has layer management, and is free. But I also use Photoshop, because I know it better :)
For creating simutrans objects I use Blender, a custom tool and Shades. Some (few) times also Photoshop.

Offline gauthier

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3628
    • SNFOS'website (in both FR and EN)
  • Languages: FR, EN, JP
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2010, 09:36:56 AM »
I use photofiltre, the others are too complicated for me  :-X

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2010, 10:17:50 AM »
I use Gimp and i'm rather pleased with it.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2010, 12:26:04 PM »
photoshop has this one feature that GIMP does not have, and it's magic wand without contiguous selection. This tool really simplifies cleaning up 3D renders.

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2010, 02:51:39 PM »
photoshop has this one feature that GIMP does not have, and it's magic wand without contiguous selection. This tool really simplifies cleaning up 3D renders.
Nice shot! 8)  I really used the magic wand a lot to clean my 3D renders. Even it is great to repaint graphics with special/player colors. Now I don't use it any more though.

Offline Freewayman

  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2010, 10:16:00 PM »
I use PAINT.NET, it's fast, simple, and free.
The anti-aliasing sucks, though.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2010, 02:36:06 AM »
I use PAINT.NET, it's fast, simple, and free.
The anti-aliasing sucks, though.

Is it easy for you?

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2010, 07:03:46 AM »
Another question:

Where will you get textures (rather than textures from this file.)

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2010, 07:35:29 AM »
for textures, you can use google image search and just type in something like 'red brick wall'.
You'd then have to somehow change the perspective of the image, be it a function of the painting program or popping it in a 3D program.

or you can play around with the hue, saturation and colour balance of the textures that are already made.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2010, 07:56:22 AM »
You'd then have to somehow change the perspective of the image, be it a function of the painting program or popping it in a 3D program.

But how? :P

Offline Isaac Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3912
  • Providing hosting for Simutrans projects
    • pc2.io
  • Languages: EN
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2010, 11:58:32 AM »
Depends on the software you're using.

Try something like this: http://duckduckgo.com/?q=photoshop+perspective+tutorial -- only change the software to match what you're using.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4856
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #15 on: August 26, 2010, 06:53:39 AM »
Depends on the software you're using.

Try something like this: http://duckduckgo.com/?q=photoshop+perspective+tutorial -- only change the software to match what you're using.

Thanks but I don't have Photoshop.

Offline Isaac Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3912
  • Providing hosting for Simutrans projects
    • pc2.io
  • Languages: EN
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #16 on: August 26, 2010, 09:28:33 PM »
Thanks but I don't have Photoshop.

And that's precisely why I said:

change the software to match what you're using.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2010, 06:20:05 AM »
And that's precisely why I said "change the software..."

Ok, let me see how.

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2010, 07:08:18 AM »
photoshop has this one feature that GIMP does not have, and it's magic wand without contiguous selection. This tool really simplifies cleaning up 3D renders.
I had found this "The Magic Wand tool allows you to select an area of an image based on its colour". This tool is in GIMP too.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2010, 07:14:08 AM »
I had found this "The Magic Wand tool allows you to select an area of an image based on its colour". This tool is in GIMP too.

but does it work with the entire picture or just the connected sections?
if it's the entire picture, is it a new feature for gimp or is it an extension? because that's about the only thing that keeps me from using GIMP for editing renders.

what usually happens with renders, is that all the unwanted parts of edges will not be selected by the magic wand in GIMP, instead forcing me to erase these pixels one by one.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2010, 08:35:46 AM »
Paint.NET has a magic wand that can be selected on full picture (100%), some parts of the picture (20% - 50%) and at the same colour-or-some-sort (1% - 15%).

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2010, 08:52:01 AM »
but is it on gimp?

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2010, 09:20:31 AM »
but does it work with the entire picture or just the connected sections?

Not the Magic Wand -- but a standard and different tool to select by colour imagewise (the button just on the right of the Magic Wand).

Offline Isaac Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3912
  • Providing hosting for Simutrans projects
    • pc2.io
  • Languages: EN

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #25 on: August 27, 2010, 12:33:25 PM »
Not the Magic Wand -- but a standard and different tool to select by colour imagewise (the button just on the right of the Magic Wand).
I'll have to try that the next time I make something.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Curious Question: What paint program would you use for creating pak128?
« Reply #26 on: August 28, 2010, 04:32:10 AM »
Thank you all for answering my questions.