The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Rivers for pak128  (Read 27896 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Rivers for pak128
« on: January 28, 2009, 10:43:39 AM »
Rivers for PAK 128 are READY!!!









They are new channel named river.
ATM i disabled the icon, so that they are used only when you generate a new map (ver. 101.1-2266 28/01/09 or newer); yet with no icon the player can't build his own river, but only canals. If possible, it would be nice to have its icon for Public Services, as it happens with cityroads.
Max speed and max weight are trivial and can be adjusted.

Here are the sources:
[ obsolete - removed ]



« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 12:12:17 PM by fabio »

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 10:57:27 AM »
yet with no icon the player can't build his own river, but only canals.
At the moment, there is a problem. If you delete the crossing, the first remove is for the river. So you can not build the river, only a channel.

Offline Roads

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 645
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 05:19:19 PM »
Looking great!  Many thanks to all who are working on it.  If possible, it would be good if the names were posted.  They deserve recognition!

Offline gauthier

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3628
    • SNFOS'website (in both FR and EN)
  • Languages: FR, EN, JP
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 05:22:56 PM »
Is it already implemented in nightlies ?

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 05:37:02 PM »
Should be.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2009, 05:42:24 PM »
Yes.

whoami-test

  • Guest
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2009, 06:00:58 PM »
If you delete the crossing, the first remove is for the river.
I assume that this needs to be changed in the program. Would you mind opening a bug report, or do you want this post to be moved there? Canals+rivers should be removed last, due to their high cost, and the low probability of an alternative route.

Actually, IMO rivers shouldn't be deletable tile by tile in their middle, because the water needs to flow somewhere.

EDIT: stupid me used the wrong account.

Offline IgorEliezer br

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4073
  • Cake recipes are cool... REALLY!
    • Igor Eliezer Architect and Urban Planner/Arquiteto e Urbanista
  • Languages: PT, EN, AutoLISP, Python
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2009, 06:33:19 PM »
Actually, IMO rivers shouldn't be deletable tile by tile in their middle, because the water needs to flow somewhere.

I think rivers could be deletable tile by tile in their middle only if you have build an alternative way for its course first. Also, if a river crosses a city, you will want to "change" the river course.

EDIT: topic name changed... and, seems we have a problem: the discussion about river development has split up into 3 topics... :(

Please, keep the discussion here on graphic approach.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2009, 06:37:34 PM by IgorTekton »

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2009, 06:51:07 PM »
the discussion about river development has split up into 3 topics... :(

And that's only here... some of it is duplicated in the German forum as well... talk about keeping track of this whole topic  ???

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2009, 09:02:30 AM »
Since it's now possible to have multiple types of river for different sizes, could you please try to make some more? :)
« Last Edit: January 30, 2009, 09:11:40 AM by VS »

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2009, 09:12:14 AM »
Sure, i will! but please tell me how should i code them in dats (i need te test them!!!)

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2009, 09:43:30 AM »
At simuconf.tab:

Code: [Select]
river_type[x]=name
 x=0...9 the highest is the smallest river. Will be 2 river to 1 so will be used the next x. And so one.

For rivers is max speed 0.

This has prissi written in the german forum. I hope I have it translated corectly.

Edit: My english is bad :(

Offline wernieman

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 713
    • Werniemans-Webside (only German)
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2009, 10:30:31 AM »
Or look at the PAK64 SVN. I think prissy code some river....

Or if you have some grafik, I could look of I could write the dat and pak it for you ...

@sojo:
My english is baaaaaaad tooooooooo  >:(

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2009, 11:31:20 AM »
Or look at the PAK64 SVN. I think prissy code some river....

I have access only to pak 128 svn... can you provide me with a .dat file?

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2009, 11:46:09 AM »
The SVN is public... you can access to it through Simutrans SF.net website: http://simutrans.svn.sourceforge.net/


Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2009, 11:55:13 AM »
stupid me, i just realised this now...

anyway, thanks!!!

Offline whoami

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 693
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2009, 05:31:59 PM »
For rivers is max speed 0.
Apparently, this is not required (pak64 waterways.dat), but by this, a river can be coded to be unusable by ships.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2009, 05:55:05 PM »
Well, the way you made the first river was just what it needed. Now there is possibility to have more types, so it might be good to have more of them with varying sizes. The only requirements  for "rivers" (and not really enforced) are:
1) water waytype obviously
2) player can't build (probably better)
3) added in simuconf.tab as a river

I updated 128 to match this specification and added your river. If you update your wc (working copy of svn), it should be there... also check out the pak64 repo, as suggested, it uses two river sizes.

One thing that I wanted to tell you about your first river was, the end (start?) tile does not have to be covered completely with sand or what it is. Oh and one more. It is straight, straight, straight... Natural foramtions are all but that. For the largest river size it is fine, but smaller ones should have a bit more jagged edges, so that they don't look as abandoned canals.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2009, 10:02:05 PM »
thank you for your suggestion, i started working exactly the way you told me now...
i hope i'll manage to finish it next week (i'm a bit caught these days, but i'm working on it)

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2009, 07:15:16 PM »
Don't hurry, I prefer quality. Take as long as you need :)

Offline IgorEliezer br

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4073
  • Cake recipes are cool... REALLY!
    • Igor Eliezer Architect and Urban Planner/Arquiteto e Urbanista
  • Languages: PT, EN, AutoLISP, Python
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #20 on: February 03, 2009, 07:42:56 PM »
2) player can't build (probably better)

If a river crosses through a city and I want to change its course. How could I do it? ;D

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #21 on: February 03, 2009, 07:50:07 PM »
As a public service... Frank enabled their icons and made them special item (system_type=255) and I just now changed menuconf to show them in editor toolbar for PA.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2009, 08:19:15 PM by VS »

Offline wernieman

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 713
    • Werniemans-Webside (only German)
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #22 on: February 05, 2009, 09:06:42 PM »
I don't want to make you angry but ....

Have you the river next week?

Offline hApo

  • *
  • Posts: 78
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #23 on: February 07, 2009, 03:25:50 PM »
Rivers...
And what about the lakes or waterfalls?

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
New rivers for pak128 - screenshots
« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2009, 02:02:37 PM »
The work is almost done, i want to test them better.

Lighter water is for streams (not navigable), darker (= canals and sea) for navigable rivers.







TODO list:
- some ice for winter images
- some shadows
- small details at stream source (maybe also in rapids?)


Offline gerw

  • Coder/patcher
  • *
  • Posts: 618
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2009, 02:09:19 PM »
Very nice!

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #26 on: February 09, 2009, 02:10:05 PM »
Excellent!

/jumps on bandwagon

Offline Combuijs

  • Web Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1392
  • Maintainer of maps.simutrans.com
    • Combuijs
  • Languages: EN, NL
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #27 on: February 09, 2009, 02:10:46 PM »
Lovely!

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18038
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #28 on: February 09, 2009, 02:51:20 PM »
I love the streams! Very nice. Any possibility of slightly reducing the contrast between streams and rivers to produce a smoother transition?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #29 on: February 09, 2009, 02:55:59 PM »
Suggestion - Add white water/flowing animation (not sure if this is possible for ways nowadays) for the slope bits.

Otherwise this looks very nice :)

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #30 on: February 09, 2009, 03:00:36 PM »
Oh, one idea (perhaps for after this is done) - it might be possible to add some stuff in turns where is enough empty space. Like reed or such... putting that on straight sections is not good because of repetitions. But that is just cherry on top :) For now, thee streams absolutely rock as they are.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #31 on: February 09, 2009, 03:32:47 PM »
Thank you all, guys!

Any possibility of slightly reducing the contrast between streams and rivers to produce a smoother transition?
I could, painting the streams lighter than rivers - yet LESS light than they are now

Suggestion - Add white water/flowing animation (not sure if this is possible for ways nowadays) for the slope bits.
I would put animations for ALL, if it were possible...

it might be possible to add some stuff in turns where is enough empty space. Like reed or such...
I'll look into something like this...

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
RIVERS 2.0 FOR PAK128 - release
« Reply #32 on: February 12, 2009, 12:10:34 PM »
There are 5 types of river: 2 streams and 3 navigable rivers.
I fixed the winter images and the source.
I smoothed the colour difference between streams and rivers and i smoothed the edges of rivers' intersections.
I didn't add reeds or bushes as intended: i wasn't pleased with the outcome.

Here are the sources:
river_2_0_src.zip

and here the paks to test:
river_2_0_pak.zip NEW

Some screenshots:





« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 06:27:20 AM by fabio »

Offline Christiansen

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 66
    • Simutrans Hungary
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #33 on: February 12, 2009, 12:14:19 PM »
Not Found

The requested URL /public/simutrans/way.river.pak was not found on this server.
Apache/2.2.3 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.3 OpenSSL/0.9.8b DAV/2 PHP/5.1.2 Server at gonella.eu Port 80

this write

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #34 on: February 12, 2009, 12:27:42 PM »
Sorry, fixed the link  ::)