News:

Simutrans.com Portal
Our Simutrans site. You can find everything about Simutrans from here.

[Android] More mobile friendly interface concept.

Started by Yona-TYT, September 11, 2021, 05:47:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yona-TYT

Well I'm not an expert on interfaces or anything like that, I still want to try to give some inspiration about it. Well we know how important thumbs are for gameplay on small screens, so the location of the menus and panels is essential to achieve a better gaming experience.

My idea then is to take the concept of the classic old Runescape on mobile devices:

• At the top we see the information messages: the equivalent in simutrans would be: News bar and pop-up windows.

• On the vertical sides you can see menu icons and a panel: the equivalent in simutrans would be the toolbars and menu icons, it is important to highlight that this panel is not duplicated, for example if I press another icon, it closes and opens again, this makes things more practical when playing on mobile phones.

In short, the tools will be displayed in that panel, so the player will not have to deal with a lot of toolbars open simultaneously.

Edit.
Fun fact: my character is called Simutrans, it is a small tribute from me to the project. 

prissi

There is a wide way of option to have simutrans appear like that. The only thing missing would be the limit on on open toolbar. The toolbars themselves could have a fixed width, and hence appear like that.

So this boils down to:
Option to have only a single toolbar open.
Option to have said single toolbar always pinnend to right (or top left or ... )

Yona-TYT

I was thinking of dividing the menus, for example the minimap icons, settings, messages, lists... in the left vertical part ... while the road icons, trains, airplanes, terrain edition, special tools ... put them on the right vertical side.

What do you think?.

Yona-TYT